[CR] Portrait of a wonderful couple (2019)

in #artisteem5 years ago

InShot_20190614_125547738.jpg

Hello wonderful steemians, today I'd like to share this portrait of a beautiful couple that I recently finished with you all. They're a young successful couple that I admire so much and I'm honored to have been commissioned to make this portrait of them which is going to hang comfortably in their living room, I'll make sure I share that picture too.

The corporate attire isn't very typical of them though as they are casual business owners 😊.

Here's a few progress shots from the making...

InShot_20190614_125734976.jpg

I started out following the rules here, drawing from left o right and up to down to avoid smudging. I laid down the skin tones using a brush and charcoal powder.

InShot_20190614_125636473.jpg

As soon as I finished the lady's face, I moved on to the man's face because I like to do the hardest, most important parts first and that is usually to capture the likeness of the person(s) I'm drawing.

InShot_20190614_125837286.jpg

A lot of charcoal powder once again to do the base layer of the skin and then I went back in with a charcoal pencil to darken some areas...

InShot_20190614_130004818.jpg

Now that the likeness had been established, I could easily breeze through the rest of the drawing, or so I thought 😀

InShot_20190614_130300082.jpg

It was quite challenging to get a smooth black tone on her jacket with my rather scratchy generals charcoal pencils, I had to do a lot of blending with a blending stomp and a chamois.

My workspace is usually this messy when I'm engrossed in my work but hey, that's just how I like it! Also I had an apprentice over who was working on a portrait himself. Good vibes.

And that's just about it, hope you enjoyed reading this. Please give a thumbs up before you leave 😉

Summary

Status commissioned
Size: 20x30 inches
Medium: charcoal and graphite on smooth Strathmore Bristol paper
Duration: 70+ hours in about a week

PEACE✌🏼

Sort:  

Your post was upvoted by the @art-venture account after manual review and included in Art-Venture magazine. The upvote and support of Art-venture magazine would greatly appreciated!

By the way I noticed that you are trying to post your works using CR which is usually required for @NTopaz in you want to have visibility for NTopaz community you should upload your works via their app, otherwise they are not able to see. Only those works that uploaded there will be supported. Here is the link for site and posting guidelines:

http://www.artisteem.com/

https://steemit.com/ntopaz/@ntopaz/update-ntopaz-posting-guidelines-related-to-some-changes-in-the-voting-policy

Unbenannt-1a.jpg

Oh thanks a lot for the feature and the hints, I'll check that out.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.16
TRX 0.16
JST 0.031
BTC 58954.91
ETH 2508.61
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.45