Why Artificial Intelligence, just isn't possible. Math, Logic, and Computer Programming

images.jpg
Image Credit

But can a machine be smart?

We hear a lot of talk about Artificial Intelligence in recent times. How it is going to change the world, and while I do thing that computer systems are changing the world, and will continue to do so. However I just don't see this as even being a possibility based on how computer software works. Machines are not able to think or operate outside of the parameters of their programing, and this is why A.I. as we think of it, is not possible.

download.jpg
Image Credit

Clif High doesn't think so

In this Wujo Clif High gives some insight into his thoughts on the Mandella Effect, but before he goes into that. He speaks about Artificial Intelligence, and why the concept as we know it, is not possible. He defines intelligence basically as the ability to take in new information, and adapt, change your mind or opinion.

Artificial Intelligence or Artificial Sentience?

I think one could argue that machines will be able to do things that appear intelligent and therefore are intelligent, like self-driving cars. That self-driving car will never be sentient though. It will never decide to quit driving people around and go get married to another car and craft car children out of car parts.

280px-Apple_II_Monitor.png
Image Credit

Machines operate on code

Computer systems operate on line by line programming, first in, first out. It does not have the ability to operate in the way that a human being does. Infact it is a common misconception to compare the way our minds work to a computer system. In my opinion we are spiritual beings and have little in common with machines. Machines may be able to do most things better then human beings, but there is one thing they cannot do, and that is have an experience.

I hope you enjoyed reading this,
Grady Brown

@rawpride

Sort:  

you might want to read this book on the subject https://www.amazon.com/Are-We-Spiritual-Machines-I/dp/0963865439
i'm convinced we will have strong artificial consciousness in a couple of decades

You know I'm actually an AI enthusiast (computer science graduate with specialization in artificial intelligence) so I'm quite on the fence about this. First of all, let me just acknowledge that the video was a good explainer, especially for the layman. The concepts were introduced effectively, and the sequence of the topics was arranged neatly. I do agree (and often preach) that we are too far off from a robot apocalypse that sci-fi stories narrate. Though, I do have qualms about how Clif argued it.

During my thesis, I was actually part of a laboratory dedicated to giving AI the ability to recognize and, hopefully, emulate human emotions. The main goal of it was to assist geriatric patients and people who suffer from mental conditions. With that being said, I've had more than a year to digest literature surrounding the topic. While I'm not nearly as smart or experienced as Clif and other experts, I do have a basic sense of the field. Consider me a minnow in the sea of AI, so take my opinion as such.

It's true that machines, in its most primal state operate on line by line programming, but we can't just talk about it in terms of low-level programming. Not anymore. While their core operates on 1s and 0s, computers have evolved so much these past few years. Deep learning, neural networks and fuzzy logic pave the way for computers to "think" the way humans think. Given the advancements in technology, one might argue that in a few years the capability for them to "think" better is not far off. I use quotations with think, because they don't really have free will or even a "soul", but there have been developments in trying to instill them with such, even before I even started learning how to program.

Machines do have the ability to reprogram themselves, even though with a limited capacity. Will they be able to reprogram their core directive? It's up to the safeguards that their developers put in place. Machines that are able to learn unassisted already exist, but their reach is limited because that's how they're programmed. They won't be taking over the world any time soon, but they do learn and think, not like humans though, but they still have the ability to do so. Because, that's how they were made.

Sorry for the long comment, man. I have too much more to say, but I don't want to hijack your comment section. Great topic for discussion though.

I do think it's very much possible and we'll be seeing a lot of it in the next 10 years.

Artificial consciousness in 10 years?

Well if you say AI then I think of machine learning and neural networks, which can be and may seem 'intelligent'. We already made great steps in this area, but can and will do much more.

However if you talk about Artificial consciousness, like self-awareness and able to exercise free will, then no I don't think this is realistic within the next 10 years. I do think it's possible though.

I believe the key will lay in quantum physics.

~ Just my opinion :)

Good information keep it up @rawpride

Good article, thanks for posting and sharing.

Nice little read, thanks =)

I feel like not all our intelligence comes from our one mind, but its is a collective form made by all the living organisms that make up the human existence. I might like to believe I have freedom in the ways I think and everything I do. Simple this in not the case, I am controlled by all which makes me, me.

We may not be far off cloning the mind like a hard drive but will that really lead to artificial intelligence or is there more that is needed.

For the foreseeable future, I don't think we are as close as we are led to believe about artificial intelligence in machines. Each new step creates further work to be done, and each new work undoes the last.

I feel we could head toward infusion between human and machines long before we ever get close to artificial intelligence. and then it could be possible that machines will create artificial intelligence through are own mistakes.

For now machines need human input to get an output and until that changes we wont see artificial intelligence.

I think a lot of this depends on your idea of intelligence. I honestly don't know a ton about it so I certainly can't claim to know if I'm right, but I feel as if machine learning is occurring or at least being developed.

A few months ago someone introduced me to Clif High's videos. At first, without ever listening to a word the man said, I thought, oh gawd, what am I getting myself into? But he's smart and to the point. I love how you've described the difference between intelligence and sentience.

and a little OT, but @luzcypher recently posted about political satirist that you may (or may not enjoy)

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.29
TRX 0.12
JST 0.035
BTC 65402.71
ETH 3383.32
USDT 1.00
SBD 4.60