This hard fork asks one big question: Money or Power?

in #article7 years ago (edited)

That's my take on this coming hard fork: it ask the users, especially the whales, what do they value more.

Because the only reason to be Powered Up now would be to be able to dictate what goes trending, who gets money and who's gonna flourish around here. You can participate just as well with no SP and money in the bank, but will it be the same after you had influence? We already know what Frank Underwood would chose because...

There's a certain high to having power, isn't there? If you never had it or can't have it in your day to day life, as it is the case with most of us, being powerful on Steemit was SOMETHING. I'm sure many have felt that, even smaller whales. Hard to let go of that.

On the other hand, there's allure to money too. It's nice to see your account estimated value and something entirely different to actually have those money.

@dantheman said that whoever remains, it will be strong, visionary people. Getting rid of the weak hands is a mandatory step toward Steemit success. Maybe. Because why have you money locked on a site when you don't believe in it, so all who do, will be true believers and push it forward. Hopefully.
Right now, I'm more interested in what the big guys will chose and what does that tell us about our current state of affairs.

That's the question. The answer will be clear soon. I'll be watching.
We all will!

Sort:  

the power to distribute reward is supreme. I'm just waiting for FOX NEWS to knock to my door asking to sponsor their content with my upvote ;-P

"This city is afraid of me. I have seen its true face. The streets are extended gutters and the gutters are full of blood and when the drains finally scab over, all the vermin will drown. The accumulated filth of all their sex and murder will foam up about their waists and all the whores and politicians will look up and shout "Save us!"... and I'll whisper "no."

  • Rorschach

    :-)

fuck FOXNEWS! i'll give it up for coca cola though.

In some way, if the steem ecosystem breaks through...an upvote from a whale could be worth way more than having blondy Megan Kelly on their network...and they are paying her 20Mil. But closing my door in their face could be priceless :-)

cheers to strong, visionary people :D

If everyone powers down, then the few who remain powered up will still end up with a good amount of extra steem power (despite the small rate of inflation after the hard fork) so please everyone power down all you want. I will take an extra piece of the generated steempower. Thank you very much.

not to mention that our relative power will go up as well which is always fun...or, if the new buyers power up, will be more democratic...i long to see a democratic trending page :)
i'm a dreamer, i know.

We will get there man. I have both confidence and patience.

I want both ^_^ Money+power= Awesomeness!

One of the things that I like about the hardfork, at least at this moment, is that the focus will now be on content creators and not just Steem Power holders.

I think content creators getting most of the rewards is a good thing.

If that is a money or power thing, I don't know.

hehe. as one, i'm all for that :D

Absolute power corrupts absolutely! - I just like that quote

I will be a buyer if we have any kind of a dip, that is for sure. I think at some point we are going a lot higher!

here's a "better" one [ not to upend you, i actualluy like that quote too ]

*It's not that power corrupts, it's that power attracts corruptible people. We'd all be better off giving power to those who don't want it..."

The Cincinnatus rule!

90% of power in the hands of 5% - and they write about the power elites in politics as if the butter would not melt ... interesting stance - 115,000 and 4,000 are two metrics which stick out.

@dantheman said that whoever remains, it will be strong, visionary people. Getting read of the weak hands is a mandatory step toward Steemit success.

I agree completely with that!

btw its getting rid* ;) :)

i was thinking wtf does getting read means? !:))

Haha, yeah I was hoping it was a typo, would have kept me up all night else. :D

Nice, tight, pithy and simplified presentation of what might happen.

the Raz's style!! thanks :D

For me no question. I choose power. Since my first day on steemit I am powering up constantly because I got the bigger picture from the beginning ;-)

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.26
TRX 0.11
JST 0.034
BTC 63418.73
ETH 3094.09
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.89