Eureka! My brand new philosophy

in #article7 years ago (edited)

I was on my way back to Ibadan from Akure where I had spent the past two weeks with my cousins. When I was loading my luggage into my dad's Green Toyota Highlander, a bedraggled looking street boy suddenly grabbed my bag from me and helped me put it into the boot. Pushing me aside, he loaded all our luggage for us. After doing this, he begged us for money. Perhaps shy and thinking we were unwilling to give him money, he quickly walked away, maybe to do the same to someone else. He was however unaware that my mum was pointing a twenty naira note to him from the front seat

Our vehicle had only moved forward a little when the boy came running towards us, panting. He had been alerted by someone that my mum had wanted to give him money, so he had run just to collect it. As the twenty naira note touched his right hand, his countenance changed. He was now grinning from ear to ear. The smile on his face was a genuine indication of the fact that his joy knew no bounds
I don't think I'm capable of expressing such joy even if I'm given 5,000 naira and yet this boy was joyful for just 20 naira. I scoffed at him.
2017-08-31-15-30-06-1791184606.jpeg

The action of this streetboy however left me deep in thought all the way home. I realised how ungrateful I am and how I had grumbled when my dad refused to buy me a new phone. I recalled how depressed I had been about not being able to get new clothes, a guitar, a new keyboard and some other needs. Yet this boy was grateful for just 20 naira.
You don't think I'm about to start going into the cliche "be grateful for what you have" sermon, do you? On the contrary, I want to share a little theory I propounded on depression and I want to see what you all think.

2017-08-31-15-27-53-743092014.jpeg

Depression is basically deep sadness, melancholy and is even regarded as a medical condition. In my little thinking, I realised depression is simply a symptom of a weak mind. Weak mind? Yes, a weak mind. When I say a weak mind, I don't mean a dull mind. Even intelligent people have weak minds. Rather, a weak mind is one that is worn down my emotions. A weak person to me is simply someone lacking emotional intelligence and who can be easily worn out my emotional problems. Such a person is unable to look beyond what he sees and the problems he's facing right now.

So here's my theory;

"Depression is a self inflicted torture caused by being unable make your self happy"

REMEDY?

Make yourself happy. Look at the brighter side of life. If you think it's not possible, try this. Get up and put on some music and dance. If you can't dance, jump. Let's see what happens.
2017-08-31-15-29-36--34840390.jpeg

Well I'd like to end on this note. BE GRATEFUL FOR WHAT YOU HAVE.

Psst. If you saw that coming, you're really smart.

I'd really love to know what you think. Agree/disagree

Peace out y'all.
1504189207860.jpg

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.16
TRX 0.15
JST 0.028
BTC 53929.89
ETH 2263.00
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.35