9 WATERCOLOR METHODS AND TECHNIQUES TO TRY | My Watercolor Journey #03

in #artguildph6 years ago (edited)

thumbnail watercolor.png

Good day Steemians! I'm here again for another watercolor art to share to all of you. So I started this watercolor series last week. And I've been searching a lot about watercolor art techniques and methods lately. I'm really having fun painting using this medium. So I want to learn more about it. And I studied all of the stuff that I can learn as a starter.

And today, I'm gonna share some techniques and methods I learned.

So, I'm gonna share 9 techniques. Before that, let's set up the tools first.


Materials I Used

You should always be ready and prepared before starting. I grabbed everything that I could get a hold to. I also divided the paper by 9 using a masking tape for an easy comparison. Plus, I get to save these cool watercolor pads. Do you know how expensive this is? Hahha.

  • Watercolor paper | Fabriano Cold Pressed 200 grams.
  • Brushes
  • Cheap set of watercolors
  • Masking tape
  • Salt
  • Alcohol
  • Crayons
  • Old toothbrush
  • Tissue paper

20180527_164053.jpg

I also set up my color palette first. The first thing that I learned is you need to have a color palette. You can try to mix up some colors and try it on a piece of paper and see if the colors will blend well.

And so, the palette that I came up that day is the tone of purple and pink. It s actually my favorite color. Haha

palette1.png


Flat Wash

The first method that I'm gonna share is the simplest one. Flat wash is just painting one even color into your paper.

flat wash.png


Gradient

This is a great technique to use especially when painting a sunset or other scenery. It is a method to use 2 colors and make them meet in the middle. Just like what I did below.

gradient.png


Wet On Wet Method

I have discussed this before on my last artwork. To do this, apply a thin layer of water on your paper and dip your brush with paint into your paper and the paint will spread in your paper, creating beautiful shapes just like what I did below.

wet on wet.png

wet on wet result.png


Alcohol Dipping Method

This techniques will also create beautiful shapes and texture on your paper and it is quite similar to wet on wet method but you'll be needing an alcohol for this technique.
So first, I applied water to the canvas. Then drip some paint into the paper. And then grab clean brush and dip it into an alcohol and dip that brush into the paint. You should see the colors spreading away from the alcohol. See the results of mine below.

alcohol process.png

alcohol.png


Crayon Technique

This is a fun technique to do. All you needed is a piece of crayon. So first thing to do is to draw a shape on your paper and then paint over it with watercolors. And you'll create a beautiful image.

crayon process.png

crayon.png


Tissue Lifting

This is the best method to use if you wanted to create pretty soft clouds. All you need to do is take a tissue and damp it gently and softly on the pain to lift some of it.

tissue paint lift off.png

tissue paint lift off result.png


Salt technique

This technique is perfect on making unique textures. All you have to do is sprinkle some salt on the wet painting and wait the effect to come out. It will create cracks to the painting, perfect backgrounds.

salt.png

salt result.png


Straw Blowing Technique

I specially love this technique. You can create beautiful unique lines using a straw. All you need to do is damp a paint on a paper and then blow the paint to different directions.

straw blowing.png

strow blowing result.jpg


Splatter Technique

This is a great method to create beautiful splashes of paints, perfect for stars effect. You'll be needing an old brush for this technique. And use you finger to splash the paint on your paper.

splatter.png

splatter result.png


watercolor 9 techniques.png

So there you have it, 9 different techniques that I learned, and there's a lot more techniques and method out there.

I hope you'll find this post interesting and informative specially if you are trying to start your own art hobby. So follow me if you want to see more of my watercolor adventure in the future cause I can assure you there's a lot more from where it came from.


CHECK OUT MY OTHER POSTS TOO

My Watercolor Painting Journey: 2nd Artwork | Watercolor Painting With Limited Color Palette

My First Watercolor Painting | Mental Health Benefits of Painting


BTCADDRESS.png

trishy.png

DQmcXxDKUBngM7cZnD5gduZBUS5KjaAg86REhV6Ax5EJAwv.png

"This work is licensed under a Creative Commons Attribution 4.0 International License."

Sort:  

This is wonderful! Thank you for sharing what you learned! You are featured in @bayanihan's 23rd Philippines' Curation Update. Upvoted 100%!


This post was shared in the Curation Collective Discord community for curators, and upvoted and resteemed by the @c-squared community account after manual review.

Congratulations @trishy, your post has been featured at Best of PH Daily Featured Posts.
You may check the post here.


About @BestOfPH

We are a curation initiative that is driven to promote Filipino authors who
are producing quality and share-worthy contents on Steemit.

See Curation/Delegation Incentive Scheme here. Be sure to leave at least 50SP undelegated on your account.

Follow our trail and vote for curated Pinoy authors. If you are a SteemAuto user, @bestofph is an available trail to follow.

If you want to be part of the community, join us on Discord

Congratulations @trishy! You have completed some achievement on Steemit and have been rewarded with new badge(s) :

Award for the number of upvotes

Click on any badge to view your Board of Honor.
For more information about SteemitBoard, click here

If you no longer want to receive notifications, reply to this comment with the word STOP

Do you like SteemitBoard's project? Vote for its witness and get one more award!

WoW.!! 3 features in one post. Thank so much guys. Recognitions like this makes us steemians work harder on producing quality posts.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.17
TRX 0.15
JST 0.028
BTC 57249.56
ETH 2352.09
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.38