Un Poco Loco por Miguel Rivera

in #artguildph6 years ago (edited)

Recently, I've watched the movie Coco and I fell in love right away. I was so in love, I tortured myself and watched a second, and a third time. Every time my tear ducts unceremoniously open their floodgates.

So it wasn't a surprise when the news arrived that the movie won Best Animated Feature Film at the Oscars. To celebrate, I drew mah boy Miguel Rivera in all his musical glory! You can check it out at all my social media: FacebookTumblrInstagramDeviantArt

I do have my own art style so the first thing I did was adapt his 3D CG features into my 2D style. I focused mostly on his facial features, trying things that will keep the resemblance. Once, I got what I wanted, I proceeded with the whole body. I began the piece with a pencil sketch of his pose, his clothes, and the guitar.

Miguel 1.jpg

I was quite hesitant including the guitar because of the annoying details. But Miguel can't be Miguel without a guitar. No, not A guitar, but THE GUITAR. It's his talent on that cursed thing, that made me un poco loco, so I MUST INCLUDE THE GUITAR!

I decided to scan it and ink it digitally because the details on that guitar would kill me if I do it manually.

Miguel 2.jpg

I use Manga Studio for my digital drawing. It gives you everything you need, including a special ruler that helps you draw symmetrically. That made drawing the guitar ornamentation a little easier. Next came the base colours, shading and highlights. I also included the skull disguise he used in Tierra de la Muerte because it had been exceptionally cute.

Miguel 3.jpg

Finally, as backdrop, I drew a Dia delos Muertos skull. And since this is a celebration of winning the Oscar, FIREWORKS!!!
And so, here's my tribute to Miguel Rivera and the movie Coco. Miguel el Guapito (the handsome little Miguel) and Miguel el Calavera (Miguel the skull)

Miguel 4.jpg

Check this and all my other works at:
FacebookTumblrInstagramDeviantArtTapastic

Sort:  

Creativity is allowing yourself to make mistakes. Art is knowing which ones to keep.
Really beautifull and eyes catching

Awesome artwork. Love this show. :)

Gracias! Yes. This movie deserves the award.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.35
TRX 0.12
JST 0.040
BTC 70541.68
ETH 3582.21
USDT 1.00
SBD 4.74