Making a Custom Book Cover: A Commission

in #artguildph7 years ago (edited)

Sir Dev.png

Hello everyone, I just want to share this illustration I made commission given by @deveerei.

This portrait illustration will be used as a book cover by a Doctor in her upcoming book.
The goal is to make a cartoonish version of herself in a green and orange pantone pallete.

asasas.jpg
finished illustration, and the Doctor herself

In this illustration, I used the following materials

Faber Castel Color Pencils
Derwent Blender
Vellum Board
Pencil

And I used Photoshop to polish everything.

aaaaaa.PNG
Scanned version of the traditional portrait |RAW|

The photos below are the work in progress i captured:

ini.jpg
I started with the outlines using a fine pencil. I intentionally made the eyes wider for the cartoonish looks. This is different from the caricature portraits. The lines and colors must be soft

eye1.jpg

eye.jpg
I always start the coloring with the eyes. I always love to draw the eyes. Using Faber Castell Classic Color pencils i gave her a cute and dark eyes.

Untitleuik.jpg
Onced finished, I color the skin with flesh. Start with smooth and light strokes so at the end you'll see where would you apply more countour and shadows.

Untitled-2.jpg

Untitled-3.jpg
Eventually, I add the shape of her face by using the flesh color pencil so that it wouldn't leave any marks on the surface when I start to recolor the skin.

hair.jpg
The hair is one of the most exciting part to draw. I make sure that her hair is similar to hers so that there's still resemblance.

hair haoir.jpg
I filled the color of the hair with Black, Brown and Grey color pencil so that the depths would be seen as well.

ear.jpg
Then user a Derwent blender, I polished some part especially the forehead and cheeks.


After doing the traditional part. I scanned the portrait so I could render a digital copy into photoshop, The editing is easy.
I used smudge and liquifying tool to soften the edges and some of the surface.

Here's the video of the layers I used in this portrait.

To make the orange dress, I used a turtle neck png image and applied an oil painting effect so that it would be flatten on the drawing.

asasasaccc.jpg

And here's finished product:
asasas.jpg


Update: I and Deveerei presented the illustration to her and she liked it. It's so heart overwhelming :)

26804070_10215358623622626_90048403_n.png

Sort:  

Astig talaga master! Good luck on your journey, hopefully the book gets published and you get more commissions like this!

Thank you po ulit Sir Dev! Sa uulitin :D
I'll wait for her book :D weee

I would say, its nicely done. Great artwork.

I love it! It's looks animated!

You're really very talented. The work of your hands is awesome!

Thank you so much :D

Wow, I wish I could draw like you. What an art! Wishing you more projects!💕🌺

Hey you could :D There's a lot of time :)
Thank you so much :D

Welcome💕🌺


Wow!😊😊
I really like the artwork that brings positive ideas closer to people
Must be supported...
I`ve re-steemed!
Thank you for your wonderful work😊

Wow thanks a lot :)

It's so unique! I love that portrait ^^

Thank you ! :D

Firstly, what a fun commission! Brava to the Dr for wanting something different of herself for a dust jacket. Secondly, wow, I love it. The colour, the 'cartooning' the laurel circlet. Well done you.

Thank you so much :D
Dr wants it to be in that pallete so I find ways to complement them and not an eye-sore.
The laurel circlet, I downloaded that on a free royalty site, i forgot the name and then enhance a little bit and add some color, because I really can't make a neat one with mouse haha .

But thank you so much !!!

Super cute @aalagenesis! Congratulations you are the best on what you are doing!

Thank you po Ms. Grazz :D

This is so thrilling, and exciting altogether. @aalagenesis this is nice work how can i perfect this art

Thank you so much for your appreciation :D

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.18
TRX 0.15
JST 0.029
BTC 62170.06
ETH 2415.65
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.65