Kate: My First Acrylic Portrait Commission

in #artguildph7 years ago (edited)

U5du3ywJRqn5Tt362K3KjfVYDdAJeBW_1680x8400.jpeg

U5du5zr9XqPxhKud8yK7M1SG712KMMG_1680x8400.jpeg

This is my first portrait commission that I did using acrylic paints.

I usually accept a color pencil and charcoal portraits from my friends and acquaintances because these are my specialties for realistic drawings and paintings. Recently, my churchmate ask me to paint his girlfriend in a canvas. I don't know if watercolor will be compatible in a caanvas so I suggested to do it with acrylic. He agreed but with a disclaimer that it is my first time so that he would not expect more. But I did my best

These are the materials I used:

  • 12"x16" canvas
  • Reeves Acrylic Paints
  • Flat Brush for color shading and background
  • Pointed Brush for details

The concept is to paint his girlfriend with a night sky background, more like with a whimsical theme.


Process

In the beginning I drew a draft the image of the girl on a canvas using a pencil, then I start to add the paint for the background with blue and black gradient to achieve the night color.

After I finished the background, I started to paint the skin color of the girl. I used white, violet and orange and mix them to create the color of the skin tone. I add water to the acrylic paint to blend them easily. Acrylic paints dry fast so it must be observed during the painting process

IMG_4563.JPG

After this, I decided to add the stars using white acrylic paint on the background. Using a flat brush I splatter the paint all over the canvas. And here's what it looked like. I cleaned the parts of the skin where the white splatter too.

IMG_4564.JPG

IMG_4565.JPG

Then I add the details of the dress, hair and face with their respective color. This is the most difficult part for me. I find it hard to perfect the eyes and the eyebrows, but it was the most enjoyable part too. I had to erase and repaint the eyes all over to get the proper proportion.

And here's the finished painting. It doesn't look exactly like her but my friend said it does.
This opportunity let me undertand my capacity in portrait paintings like acrylic and motivated me to study and learn more about it.

I hope you all like it!

Thank you for dropping by



toggle night mode to see the stars

Sort:  

You are so talented and amazing

It's wonderful <3
The background is suiting her so well !!

Thank you si much. he wanted it like that :)

Wow! I wish I could paint too!

Hey, you could paint too !!! You just need time and eagerness <3

I got envy with people who have the gift in arts, more on their capability to draw. My family has their potential, but there is a twist in me. I only can draw big and small circles to form a cat, my students laugh at me when I tell this story especially when I request somebody to draw on the board in behalf of me. You are so gifted.

Your Post Has Been Featured on @Resteemable!
Feature any Steemit post using resteemit.com!
How It Works:
1. Take Any Steemit URL
2. Erase https://
3. Type re
Get Featured Instantly � Featured Posts are voted every 2.4hrs
Join the Curation Team Here | Vote Resteemable for Witness

Hello kabayan!
Again, your post was chosen to be part of our Daily Featured post today. You will receive 100% upvote from this account, and upvotes from your SteemPH Manila family. Please continue creating quality post, and do not forget to support your fellow authors that we featured with you today.

Thank you so much for your continuous support <3 I will post more like this !

Salamat po uli:D

Is this you? Mejo humahawig kay Georgia ng ika-6 na utos (fan?) hahaha beautiful creation. Keep it up po!

Asombroso trabajo, tienes mucho talento! Sigue así, saludos.

Si tienes tiempo me gustaría que visitaras mi blog, éxitos!💕

Nice! I really want to learn how to paint. I have poster paints but I am not using them because I'm scared to make mistakes. And I am thinking that I might just waste the paints I have. 😂😭😂😭😂😭😂😭

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.18
TRX 0.16
JST 0.029
BTC 60883.28
ETH 2401.75
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.63