Black Cat - 3rd @artgirl Pet/Animal Superhero (Marvel or not) Drawing Contest!

Lately I'm trying out new things, I'm still really new in digital art and this is the first time I drew something using illustrator and I have to say I'm liking it! This time I drew my cat Carmelo into Black Cat, the cat version of Black Panther.

black cat final.jpg

This is my entry for the 3rd Pet/Animal contest, hosted by @artgirl, this edition is dedicated to Superheros!More information about the contest here

The Inspiration:

While I was thinking in which character my cat Carmelo looked like, I remembered the movie Black Panther. I thought it fitted perfectly, as Black Panther, my cat is gracefully agile, good tracker and has amazing acrobatics.

As King T’Challa, who goes to the extreme to protect the Kingdom of Wakanda, King Carmelo protects the house as its Kingdom, fighting against the insects that try to invade the house and not letting in any other animal to the house.

This is the image I picked as the base for the drawing.

IMG_20180304_140444.jpg

The Software:

  • Adobe Illustrator, for making the drawing and the letters.
  • Adobe Photoshop for the assembly of all the components.

The Process:

I started by picking the perfect picture of my cat to insert it into Adobe Illustrator next to a picture of Black Panther as reference.

Captura de pantalla (184).png

Then I traced the cat’s silhouette.

Captura de pantalla (185).png

After having the silhouette I drew the lines of the face as the details of the mask.

Captura de pantalla (187).png

When I had the base complete I added the filling.

Captura de pantalla (190).png

I finished the drawing by making more lines to add definition and brush strokes for the highlights.

Captura de pantalla (193).png

I exported the file a PNG to use it on Photoshop.

Captura de pantalla (195).png

I moved to adobe photoshop to finish the piece. I added all the elements: The drawing of the cat, a rock where it was going to stand, a sky as background and Marvel’s logo.

Captura de pantalla (198).png

I retouched the brightness and contrast of the sky and the rock. I added the text and I made a duplicate of it, I edited the second text to make it look like the yellow shadow of the original text and to finish I saved the file as a JPEG image.

Captura de pantalla (199).png

The Sources:

Mavel’s logo vector here

Font used: Wolf's Bane II

Black Panther Reference Pictures: Main picture Mask picture.

Rock: here

Sky:here

Black Panther Logo: here

Thank you for passing by and reading my post!

Sort:  

Nice i love how you made tgat cat look so cool

Thank you! The cat was already cool, I just added a costume :p

Im wondering how you managed to get that costume to fit the cat

Omg I'm loving it. Hahaha. Caaaaat! ♥ Thanks for joining!

Thank you! I was worried about not posting in time. I really loved to make it and Carmelo is really excited for having its own movie poster (well, not really, but I'm excited for him).

Btw are those background photos free to use photos?

The font is free to use. Marvel's logo is a vector that was free to use too. The Sky picture is a wallpaper. I had my doubts with the rock, that I didn't double check, but I just did the research and I found the original source of the picture and it's a web to download free wallpapers for backgrouds.

Great! Thanks. :)

Haha so funny, Carmelo Superhero! Yo tengo es una gata, ella no sera un super heroe como Carmelo, pero es candidata a la presidencia en Estados Unidos xD. Exitos en el concurso

¡Gracias! Mi gato solo gobierna la casa, tu gata presidenta de los Estados Unidos ya es otro nivel.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.17
TRX 0.16
JST 0.029
BTC 61282.12
ETH 2375.20
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.55