Paper Circus

in #artexplosion6 years ago (edited)


This was a learning experience, even tho a mostly failed attempt at art.

I've always liked creative endeavors and I do what I can with photography, writing and editing, as well as hacking odd bits of found art and crossing them with various gewgaws to make my surroundings more aesthetically pleasing.

Physically I am limited with fine art because I dont have the hand eye coordination, so long ago I put off trying new projects out of frustration. I realized that this is a sucky ass reason, the desire to be perfect or nothing at all, so I am henceforth going to try my best to make new art - just play with it, for the sake of seeing what I can do.

Julia's artwork and contests always inspires me because they appeal to my sense of the other world - the bizarre impossibilities that nonetheless exist in strange corners and attract our imaginations. I love to see the imaginative creations that others are compelled to create and display, put forth for passion and pleasure.

Here is my entry for juliakponsford "Circus" themed contest.


cardboard canvas cuz im poor


some materials - cardboard, newspaper, magazine cut outs, coloring books, paper samples, acrylic paint, poster paint, nail polish, glitter, glue, gesso, etc.


make sure you dont drop the gesso...


cover with thin paper. don't ask me why i haven't a clue what i was doing...


acrylic and poster paint background


trying to figure out where everything fits.. and running out of light and energy.


details -bowie as a clown, death mask and mexican art.


details - more masks and statuettes as the gruesome and lively audience...


details - the thin white duke as ring-master.


My concept was along the top their are billboards serving as the fence, but the scaling is off, then an audience around the periphery with the action in the middle. given more time id put more detail in and get rid of stuff that doesn't work. next time... lol. well, i like the background. and it wasnt that awful that ill give up, so thats something.

Sort:  

rad

ty for lookin dun hug

Hehehe Tor, you can see my soul!? I am looking your soul! :)

hello beautiful :)

Ok this is amazing, you had a circus themed magazine and David bowie 😁 You should be posting more collage stuff on steemit!

thanks! im not sure on collage, but id like to try more free style acrylic stuff. I may eventually fill this one in with more images, I didnt have nearly enough for what i wanted to do.

Ey Yo to our favorite pirate! this is super cool well done for the creepy bowie circus !!!!

bowie is not creepy he is awesome!!! i love him always.. i would like to put him in a story with a neil gaiman story and mix in some tim burton.

Don't be too self-depricating. You did a good job! :0

So many things to look at! I love all the individual pictures and you did such a great job at putting them together. You've got such cool stuff lying around! You should totally do more art based projects.

gonna try. next time im gonna be more organized...

That is so cool @torico! I think it turned out great!

hugs ty sweetie!

Lovely images it turned out really cool :) Keep it up

thanks you for the encouragement!

Yes yes yes @torico this is amazeballs, you did a great job with this I'd even hang that on my wall, looking at these of your face would be very cool.

i'm really amazed that so many people like this! it was just an experiment, and not a very well thought out one, so im wondering if i actually planned would it be fabulous or flop? either way the feedback has given me incentive to keep trying :)

You defiantly should keep on doing these, I love that you used a real paining for the background and cut out the pictures, in this day and age, its got a lot more charm than something I could wack out it photo-shop.

@Torico This rocks!!!! I've been AFK for months- You made my evening :D

This looks Excellent to me. Upvoted and Followed.

thanks!! hope to keep improving..

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.16
TRX 0.16
JST 0.030
BTC 57889.68
ETH 2457.18
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.40