ART EXPLOSION WEEK 25: Theme INSPIRED BY A BOOK: El Tunel Ernesto Sábato

in #artexplosion7 years ago (edited)

Hello steemians I greet you again, and on this occasion to present my post to participate in the ART EXPLOSION WEEK 25: Theme INSPIRED BY A BOOK. At the beginning I did not know which book to inspire me to do my work, among many I remembered one I had read a long time ago and liked very much which has the name TUNEL written by the Argentine Ernesto Sabato. This short novel is about how Juan Pablo Castel, main character and narrator, tells from jail the reasons that led him to assassinate María Iribarne, who was his lover.

In this book several topics are discussed but the ones that stand out most are the theme of violence and loneliness. Juan Pablo Castel is an extremely violent character who reproduces a scheme of violence in the relationship: harmful action followed by repentance. See that Mary depends on him, that he needs it, so that he can not leave him that way
On the other hand the theme of loneliness is shown and it is in this theme that my drawing is inspired. Loneliness can be seen represented in the metaphor of the tunnel. Castel walks through a tunnel from which other people are isolated, going alone. When he kills Maria he tells her that he does it because he has left him alone. He fears loneliness and looks for someone who understands him, who accompanies him. Mary also looks for someone, in the end that is what leads them to know each other.

The following is a fragment of chapter 36 of the book in which I was inspired to do my work for this contest.

"No, not even that wall was always like this: sometimes it was black stone again and then I did not know what was happening on the other side, what was it about her in those anonymous intervals, what strange events happened; and I even thought that in those moments his face changed and that a mocking grimace deformed him and that maybe there was laughter crossed with another and that the whole history of the passages was a ridiculous invention or belief of mine and that in any case there was only one tunnel , dark and lonely: mine, the tunnel in which my childhood, my youth, my whole life had passed (chapter 36)."

https://es.wikipedia.org/wiki/El_t%C3%BAnel_(novela)

el tunel6.jpg

Drawing Process

el tunel.jpg

el tunel2.jpg

el tunel4.jpg

el tunel5.jpg

This is one of the covers of the book, I do not know if it is translated into English I hope you have the opportunity to read it I recommend it 100%

image source: https://tulecturadiaria.wordpress.com/2014/01/03/el-tunel-ernesto-sabato/

Upvote- Coment

Thank you @juliakponsford

Sort:  

Very cool entry, the man looks like he is in so much pain, you conveyed it very well, I want to read this book no, thanks for participating :)

The book is very interesting, I hope you can read, I do not know if it exists, the English translation

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.19
TRX 0.15
JST 0.029
BTC 63126.26
ETH 2596.37
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.76