ART EXPLOSION WEEK 10: Theme SELF ( My entry: Digital drawing and Poem! )

in #artexplosion7 years ago


ART EXPLOSION WEEK 10: Theme SELF  ( My entry: Digital drawing and Poem! ) 



SELF.

When I first stepped into adulthood,

I knew what I wanted for my life.

I wanted a man to love and love me back

A man to love and protect me.

I stepped into adulthood fragile and scared,

Looking for the man who would guide me,

The man who I would follow to the ends of the earth and back again.


A man came into my life,

Took my gift and used it maliciously.

Turned my soft and fragile self into a hard and unmoving shell.

He blinded my eyes to the wonderful gift I had to give,

And made me feel alone, scared and unsure.

In this shell, I stayed turning it into my shield,

So that nothing would hurt me.


A few friends  stepped into my life,

At first, I was leery,

I wondered what they wanted and how they were going to hurt me.

But they didn't.

They stood up for me, protected me.

I gradually let the shell begin to crumble and fall,

Beginning to emerge, and they were always there.

Catching me every time I would begin to go back into that shell,

They would gently pull me out again,

Making me feel safe with them.

And strength to do anything I wished to do.


Recently, I had to overcome a writer's block that almost destroyed my creative mind

My father, being my biggest fan, next to my friend that is, recently passed away

I had always gone to him and he took such pride in my storytelling and poems. 

I felt like that part of me, without his encouragement, would be lost forever ... Frozen


The frosted pane of loss obscured my view. 

Black ice covered the path that led to my future.

I dared not venture forth until it thawed.

So, I shut my eyes tightly, scared and afraid.

Retreating back into my cocoon.


Then I started to look at myself in a different way, feeling the fighter deep within myself regain spirit and strength. 

Slowly I started to feel the warmth again, 

breaking free. 

The beautiful butterfly within my soul, 

once dark and full of despair, 

Flowing into the world once more, full of hope and light 


Now, I've opened my wings fully, and I'm in the air,

I know now, he is still there, with me always

Watching me as I fly, once more 

When the winds of life come and blow me down,

Or I carelessly fly into something,

His softly spoken words will whisper to me.

And he will be there to gently pick me up,

being careful not to remove the delicate powder on my wings.

He will then again gently release me back into the air to fly again, with a loving smile 

To fly again right behind his guidance.

To fly again in his protection.

To fly again on the wings of my freedom, knowing he will always be near ...


I am, once more, a creative free spirit, sculpting, writing and drawing without worry, now. 

Feeling alive with rebirth and boundless energy  

I found a place to share it all, as well 

- Steemit -

And everyone graciously accepted me and it feels like a second home.

I am happy to share with my peers and it's made me empowered to create, even more.

What will the future hold? it's a great mystery,

yes, 

Come with me, please ... and explore ...



For the digital version I created this by hand using ecoline watercolor pens!
I made a picture of the drawing and turned that into a program!
What happened then is a little bit of magic! :D But to show you I really made it I wanted to share the hand drawn version as well in this post! 


Sort:  

Congratulations! This post has been upvoted from the communal account, @minnowsupport, by Poeticsnake and Snek from the Minnow Support Project. It's a witness project run by aggroed, ausbitbank, teamsteem, theprophet0, someguy123, neoxian, followbtcnews/crimsonclad, and netuoso. The goal is to help Steemit grow by supporting Minnows and creating a social network. Please find us in the Peace, Abundance, and Liberty Network (PALnet) Discord Channel. It's a completely public and open space to all members of the Steemit community who voluntarily choose to be there.

Awesome words and beautiful artwork as alwaysssssssss 👁❤️🐍

Thank you for your never ending suport! <3

Excellent entry! I love the drawing but the accompanying text was so honest and beautiful. Thank you snakey :)

Thank you ever so kindly!
Its a good lesson for me to look deeper into myself. So this contest really came at the perfect time! You rock!

This post recieved an upvote from minnowpond. If you would like to recieve upvotes from minnowpond on all your posts, simply FOLLOW @minnowpond

Beautiful poem @poeticsnake. I'm sorry for the loss of your friend. I'm glad you overcame your writer's block. What a wonderful thing it is to have your father supporting you and being a fan. Many a father I know go against their children's creativity.

Loss, is sadly part of life but hard to over come at times.
I found my way back because of the most amazing friends in my life!
Thank you for leaving this nice reply! Much appreciated!

This is wonderful artwork and words that rake the soul. I feel your pain and hold you close in my heart, and then I feel the release and I know you. You are a wonder to behold and I am glad to call you my friend.

Another great post. Thanks for sharing this window into yourself.

again, you touch me so deeply with your words.
I am so darn happy I came to PAL where I got a chance to meet you and your amazing wifey and of course many other members! You are all a blessing to me!

i love that you have trees growing on your eyelids!!!

Hehe, better on the eyelids than coming from me ears! :D

amazing

Thank you!

This post has received a 0.45 % upvote from @drotto thanks to: @banjo.

Hello dear @poeticsnake, wonderful piece of art explosion, you done a great work by hand made digital drawing, and the poetry you shared is awsome, i appreciated your work your natural talent and your skills, thanks for sharing.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.18
TRX 0.16
JST 0.030
BTC 68244.61
ETH 2640.30
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.69