Art Explosion entry for LIGHT!steemCreated with Sketch.

I love the theme for this contest because painting light is my favorite thing!

I painted this piece on Christmas Eve for my dad. My sister had just told me a story of how he purchased my very first galleried drawing when I was 17 or so and had kept it hidden for 12 years so I would never know. He wanted to give me confidence as an artist so he knew he had to keep it a secret. Now that I have begun putting my work out again and am selling paintings he finally took it out and displayed it. I painted this because he said he didn’t have enough of my artwork and after a story like that I couldn’t deny him another custom piece.

This painting is acrylic on canvas and it’s only 8x10”. It was difficult for me to paint that small but I’m so happy with the way it turned out, especially the snowy parts of the trees! Painting the trees themselves and then dabbing on the paint to create the look of snow laden branches really helped give it that beautiful wintry Christmas feeling. :)

F2A80953-A34F-411E-BB54-1643C84F42F6.jpeg

6F596B3C-28C5-4E86-92DD-5154EAC38D33.jpeg

Please upvote and resteem and be sure to check out the contest for more amazing entries!

Sort:  

What a beautiful story. Touching, and a reminder of how grateful for my children I am. I think its really easy to fall into patterns and to begin to take things for granted just because those "things" are immediate. Thank you for offering this and putting it out here. Very beautiful indeed.

Thanks for reading! :) It really meant a lot to me to find out he had done that and I’m glad I was able to share the story. :)

Wow you have a beautiful technique, thank you so much for the entry!

Thank you so much! This painting is a departure from my usual subjects but it was a lot of fun. :)

Congratulations @paulaloomisart! You received a personal award!

1 Year on Steemit

Click here to view your Board

Support SteemitBoard's project! Vote for its witness and get one more award!

Congratulations @paulaloomisart! You received a personal award!

Happy Birthday! - You are on the Steem blockchain for 2 years!

You can view your badges on your Steem Board and compare to others on the Steem Ranking

Vote for @Steemitboard as a witness to get one more award and increased upvotes!

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.20
TRX 0.15
JST 0.029
BTC 64344.88
ETH 2629.39
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.83