my entry for the Art-explosion week 74 theme: Dark

in #artexplosion5 years ago (edited)

Hello everyone!

This week I present my new drawing made digitally with autodesk sketchbook.
It is with the theme:" DARK" for art-explosion hosted by @juliakponsford and @vachemorte. Thanks so much for the inspiration 💗

Interpretation:

For this theme I was thinking of a dark soul, possession of a human being.
The reference in my head were moving images of "Jimmy Angelov" this is a character from the movie "practical magic". Played by Goran Visnjic.
He dies when Sally (witch sister) intoxicated him with a herb in his booze..
After that, they bring him back to life but he came back dark and un-natural...like a demonish creature.

This is my dark entry:

Ideas:

I have challenged myself again. I started out with a kind of alien 👽 with fairy ears and a whole body but I wasn't satisfied. I wanted to get that Jimmy Angelov look on her so I was playing around to get the wished effects.
Normally when I make a drawing I start with a sketch. But now I dived in and would work with everything I needed to design the effect what I was looking for.
Pretty cool to do, not follow the lines but just go with it.

My husband was joking about my alien and asked me, is the theme erea 51 ? 😁 Maybe a new theme idea?
Between de days and hours in it I worked on this lovely creepy person. and my kids were not that scared of it so I needed to step it up...
I want her to look fierce, scary and like my reference I've chosen.

Here you see a picture of the image what I saw in my head of "Jimmy angelov"

Now I will show you what this drawing has been going through.

How:

I was inspired by Fairies, wanted to make one too but later on I removed the ears!
At first it fits my idea perfectly little weird elf with darkness....hmmm
Yeah not quite yet....after a while her face was so changed because I was searching the scary parts and finally found it... Than I removed the ears just to see what would happen with my drawing and.... Yeah that's it. So sorry fairy fans 💔 haha I will have to make the elf another time😁
This time I was also really exploring the brushes and their effects
I managed to get the effect I was searching for.

Smokin'

For the finishing touch, I needed something in the back like smoke... How do you make smoke??? Well it isn't very hard. Add a new layer, With a pencil you make a lining in the shape you like. Duplicate layer and arrange the opacity. With the blue tool you can shape your painted line to act like smoke. At last you can add the smoke layers together.

This is without a photoshop filter before she was dipped in ;)

Have you noticed what kind of fashion she is wearing? Maybe there stays a little alien in there after all;)

Take a look at the art-explosion, here is the link:

https://partiko.app/juliakponsford/art-explosion-74-theme-dark-20-steem-and-pal-ccc-in-prizes?referrer=nymia.aryn

The finished result:

❤Thank you very much for your visit and thanks for all of your support ❤️

Posted using Partiko Android

Sort:  

Hello!

This post has been manually curated, resteemed
and gifted with some virtually delicious cake
from the @helpiecake curation team!

Much love to you from all of us at @helpie!
Keep up the great work!


helpiecake

Manually curated by @carrieallen.


@helpie is a Community Witness.

That's really nice! I think removing the fairy ears was a good idea; I'm particularly fond of the eyes with no pupils! Definitely a possession going on there.

thank you very much! i liked yours 2~!
<3

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.20
TRX 0.15
JST 0.029
BTC 63780.55
ETH 2618.13
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.82