Digital Painting: MAJOR from GHOST IN THE SHELL | With Process Steps for Art Explosion

in #artexplosion6 years ago (edited)

My mind is human. My body is manufactured. I'm the first of my kind, but... I won't be the last.

Major, Ghost in the Shell

Scarlett.png


This is my submission to @juliakponsford's Art Explosion challenge with the theme: Technology


I have been itching to do a techno-inspired drawing for some time. Last Art Explosion, I submitted a 1960 cartoon. For the theme now, I chose to paint the main character from one of the most visually stunning sci-fi movies I've seen: Ghost in the Shell.


100417.gif
src

I saw this in the theater last year and I loved everything about it, the futuristic set-up, complete with gigantic holograms floating above the city; the robot technology; the story; and characters.

The lead character in this story is Major. "She is a synthetic "full-body prosthesis" augmented-cybernetic human employed as the field commander of Public Security Section 9, a fictional law-enforcement division of the Japanese National Public Safety Commission." wiki

Scarlett Johansson was perfect for the role, imo, and looked so stunning as Major. She brought so much life into the character. Her movements were robotic-like but you could still sense the humanity beneath the "shell".


In the movie, I really liked how the makers presented the future of where technology could go and particularly liked the creation of Scarlett's thermoptic body suit. This picture is based on the beautiful production pic of Scarlett wearing the suit.

Process


I used ArtRage Lite Software for painting my picture. I've put together a process breakdown below:

Major Collage.jpg

I. Outline with ink pen.
II. and III. Used watercolor paint brush to color, using metallic beige, light and dark grey, black for hair, light tan for skin and red for lips.
IV. Air brush for shadows, using darker orange hue for skin and black for shadows in the suit.
V. For the background, I painted everything pink first, then airbrushed the different splashes of color, blue, yellow,
and red. I used the ink pen to draw the vertical lines.

Assembling Major:


MAJOR.gif

*

Many thanks to @juliakponsford and @vachemorte for Art Explosion!

OneHeart Border.jpg

See you next time,

NoelleArtSig.png

Achievers Logo.png

Sort:  

Very good. I like this very much.

This is very cool thank you for entering, I just watched the live action version of this movie a few weeks ago!

Thank you so much @juliakponsford! 🙏

Wow, you do digital drawing too. Amazing.. I had never done it..

Thanks! I can see you are improving a lot and winning a lot of contests too! ✌ more success to come for you buddy!

Yeah I hope we are success together..
Let's try paint with coffee @noellesevilla

Hahaha I'll try that soon!

Yeah. Of course you can.

Resteemed your article. This article was resteemed because you are part of the New Steemians project. You can learn more about it here: https://steemit.com/introduceyourself/@gaman/new-steemians-project-launch

I see your improvements in digital drawing!!! I loved that movie btw... I just saw it a few weeks ago

Yep yep me too! Loved it and hoping for a sequel. Thank you @jedamez!✌

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.20
TRX 0.12
JST 0.030
BTC 61014.18
ETH 3412.53
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.52