ART EXPLOSION | THE REPTILE ROOM | Digital Painting

in #artexplosion6 years ago (edited)

"But where the Baudelaire orphans most liked to be was the Reptile Room."

Violet sat at a table with the ropes, gears, and cages that made up the different snake traps, learning how they worked, repairing them if they were broken, and occasionally making improvements... Klaus sat nearby, reading the books on Peru Uncle Monty had and taking notes on a pad of paper...

The Reptile Room by Lemony Snicket

Reptile Room.png
^
Violet and Klaus in the Reptile Room owned by their Uncle Monty, a Herpetologist.

Turtle Border.JPG


credit: wikipedia
The picture above is a scene I drew inspired by the second book of Lemony Snicket's a Series of Unfortunate Events entitled The Reptile Room. It's my entry to @juliakponsford's art explosion contest with the theme, inspired by a book.

*

The story is about three orphans who lost their parents in a mysterious fire. They are then plunged into a series of unlucky circumstances, mainly due to a villain plotting to steal the their enormous inheritance.

*

I mulled over this concept for a day and a half thinking of all the books I read and which scenes or characters I could draw. I realized nearly all of my favorite books were already made into films (which I've also watched) and I knew if I tried to draw a scene from those books, it would probably look similar to the characters or setup from the movie adaptation. And I didn't want to do that.

series.gif

credit

LOL, okay, okay, so I know this book has already been made into a film (and a series on Netflix). But I ultimately chose this book because (A) I love it and (B), I've been drawing scenes and characters from A Series of Unfortunate Events way before I saw the movie, unlike with many other books I've read.

Bonus


Left: Waiter at Cafe Salmonella by Brett Helquist and Right: My sketch from High School
I dug up my very old drawing book scans from high school and was able to find the sketch I did of the waiter from Cafe Salmonella. That's in the fifth book of this series, The Ersatz Elevator. I remember browsing through the teens' section in the bookstore when I found an open copy of the book and looked through the illustrations. Lemony Snicket's description of the waiter and Brett Helquist's genius illustration made me laugh and when I went home that day, I decided to draw the waiter from memory.

*

Here they are side by side: Gloomy expressions, food trays and salmon suits complete.

Process

rep1.JPG

Rough sketch of the drawing

This piece was done using ArtRage Lite with the tools: ink pen, paint roller, watercolor brush and the airbrush.

In four quick steps, here's how I drew the scene:

  1. On top of the rough sketch, I use the watercolor brush for the lines in the window and to fill in all the basic colors.

  2. I add a second layer of the same colors to add richness to the hues. I add fine detail like hair strands, facial features, etc using the ink pen.

  3. I paint a final layer of darker watercolor to create shadows and depth.

  4. Lastly I use the airbrush for light and dark highlights.

PS: I got lazy and didn't include their baby sister Sunny in the drawing.

All done with my rambling. For those interested in joining, you have a day left! Find the link by clicking here. Now, time for a snooze.

credit

OneHeart Border.jpg

See you next time,

NoelleArtSig.png


Achievers Logo.png

Sort:  

I can see how much you like this book :)

Thank you very much Dee! I only had very little time to draw as relatives are visiting. Is it past deadline for the insect theme?

Have a great time with the rels ;)

I thought the post must have taken ages as it's so detailed.

You have 8 hours left for the insect theme.

Thanks Dee! I have time to make a quick pic!

We watched this movie together with mom, Jac and Vocafrost. I didn't know you read the book. You keep on surprising me kiddo. Great work.

Hehehe heeeee.. Thank you @gems.and.cookies! May copy ako if gusto mo basahin. Pero ebook

Yaaay! My fave too!! 💕💕💕💕

Omg really??? Yehey! I love this story!

Beautiful work again @noellesevilla! I love all that you’ve done here. It’s incredible how you put everything all together. Wonderful Friend!

Thank you very much Debbie as always for your support and kind words!

You are so welcome!

Thank you for the entry!

Always a pleasure to join. Thank you!

Thank you for describing your process so well, lovely post, thoughts and nice art.

Thank you very much! I get very excited when talking about books and art. 😅😅😅

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.23
TRX 0.12
JST 0.029
BTC 66216.02
ETH 3547.44
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.01