The shadow dancing - artexplosion week 40: express yourself

in #artexplosion6 years ago (edited)

the blotch 1.jpg

‘Express yourself’ this is the topic of this weeks #artexplosion contest. Expression as in ‘communicating something to someone’? My thoughts are circulating, searching for the right image to paint, because I constantly express myself. As Watzlawick stated, ‘You cannot not communicate’. My every impulse is communication. The little facial tics, the crying into the wind, the dancing in the night and the writing of my blog. Everything. I do not need to paint (or dance or sing or… to express myself).

Design ohne Titel sd(41).png

But although I am constantly transmitting signals, I can never be sure someone will understand me. Actually, I cannot be sure my communication is always recognised as communication. I will never know if my carefully planned painting, my descriptive text will arouse the same thoughts and emotions in my recipients. I can never be certain that anybody recognises my attempts at communication. Perhaps someone has a glimpse at my newest painting and thinks ‘this is a blotch of paint’ and afterwards turns his back to the painting and wanders away. He will never understand that the blotch is the distorted shadow of me while dancing. He will not understand that I could not convince myself to paint something light and lovely. That my attempts at communication through art very often lead to darkness and to the world behind the mirror. That in its plainness this black portrait of me encompasses all my insecurities: my double chin visible, my risen shoulder and my hunched back. My vainness of wanting to be pretty, healthy, and young. And at the same time, it shows my joy of dancing and of giving a shit about the observing society. I danced in the cellar of a museum in the middle of an exhibition, uninvited. The painting shows the bold colours blooming (sometimes) in my mind and that art can be a means to communicate, to express myself.

But maybe there is only a blotch of paint.

Design ohne Titel df(41).png

The painting is made with a series of photographies in mind which were taken during a dance improvisation in the Boverie in Liège. I started with a base coat of brownish acrylic paint applied with a middle-sized pallet knife on canvas. The actual portrait I sketched with charcoal on the dried paint and afterwards I filled it with dark brown-black paint. The next step was to paint a hint of the skirting board. To get a straight line I helped myself with masking tape (yes, I know…. cheating….:-D).

Design ohne Titel(42).png

The last step was to apply the colourful flecks at the middle of the shadow-portrait. These flecks are old dried up acrylic paint, I peeled from my old palettes (I always do this to use them in new artworks). Now the painting is waiting for its varnish. And I am furiously cleaning my hands :-D

Design ohne Titel(41).png


Want to see more_Follow me neumannsalvaor visithttp___neumannsalva.de_(1).png

Sort:  

So interesting. The black figure is a composite of the other photographs?

THank you <3 It is more an interpretation of the photos (or of my memory of the performance) and I wanted to exaggerate the distortion a bit :-D

Uncomplicated article. I learned a lot of interesting and cognitive. I'm screwed up with you, I'll be glad to reciprocal subscription))

Screen Shot 2018-05-06 at 8.23.07 PM.png

Why do I keep seeing this comment from different people it makes no sense !!!!!!!!!

Fantastic submission as usual, I always love to hear your thoughts behind the process, it is a complicated article I don't know what rasjkeee92 is on about, lol!

Wow thank you! I have to admit that I am great Luhmann fan and love his "Systemtheorie" but mor ein an artistic kind of way. I find it's cleanness very inspiring. And you are right, his theory may be many things but absolutely not easy or uncomplicated to understand. Quite the contrary. Its sometimes very cryptic. Thank you for always answering and caring <3

Oh I forgot, I am helping to promote a new social network called ONO and I am wanting to bring many artists there as well, I think you will find their philosophy very interesting, it won't be launching until the end of june but you can sign up in advance to receive an invite, if you are interested here is the page: https://www.ono.chat/en/invite/index.html

Absolutely. I already read your articles, but sometimes I am a little slow to understand (I am not so fit with all these platforms) I will look into it and hopefully I grasp it :-D
Thank you <3

I really enjoyed following your creation process @neumannsalva ! Good luck with the contest 😃

Thank you... but I did not win (but the winners are all very good, so I am in peace with this :-D) And it is good to hear you find it interesting to see the development. I am not always sure if it is a goo idea to show this, because it could demystifies the paintings :-D


This post was shared in the Curation Collective Discord community for curators, and upvoted and resteemed by the @c-squared community account after manual review.

Wow this is so amazing @neumannsalva :)

Happy you liked it :-D

Sure I did! Keep it up! God bless :)

Wow .. very special job, you are very great in terms of painting

Thank you for the compliment :-D

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.19
TRX 0.15
JST 0.029
BTC 62702.02
ETH 2572.25
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.75