How to cut down time - a dance video

in #artexplosion6 years ago (edited)

I am not here...yet
If you are waiting time can grow, it grows into a grey giant made from rubber which presses down in every space available. It fills everything, your eye sockets, your ears, nose, and mouth. It wanders under your armpits and snuggles around your skin. Little by little it encases you in a soft but unyielding mass of boring time. You may drown of a temporal interloop. The waiting grey is not silent, it also fills your senses with white noise till nothing can reach you anymore. The waiting time will grow until there is no future or past. Time is collapsed in itself. There is only now.

iam not here yet 3.png

You must cut it down, the now. You must fragment the time into smaller and smaller intervals, so that in front of you, millions of tiny time slots unfurl. They are no longer grey. These slots are dark with a red ember glowing inside. Ready to be filled. Now start to do something: Move, jump, kick, turn, repeat. Every action will structure time. You will lend the grey rhythm, order, and duration. You will leave the endless now and change it into a linear concept of time. But outside the now is only so much time left.

This video is developed out of a dance improvisation I made during waiting. I sat in the reception area of a community centre, waiting for my husband to finish his work. It was dark outside and inside, I could here distant noises of cars and saw people passing the big glass door, but nobody noticed me. I had no light, no music, nothing to read or do, so I started to move. The glass front of the building with its red glow of the street lamps was a stage-like display case for my dance. I cut down the waiting time into intervals of jumps and turns. I conquered timelessness through rhythm. I sequenced the now.




The video was made with magix, the music with audacity, the dance with my body.





This is my contribution to ART EXPLOSION WEEK 31 theme TIME hosted by @juliakponsford (THANK YOUUUUUUUU)

Sort:  

Thank you for your creation! Well done!

Thank you! But it was a hard fight... My first time with the editing programm :-D

Hello, I have only just got to this!
I watched the video first and then read the text afterwards.
While I was watching the video, I was wondering ... where is this place, who is that figure going into that building, what does this mean? (And more prosaically, is this your living room opening straight onto the street?).
As I read the opening paragraphs, I was reminded of the many times I have been waiting for a train to get home. Sometimes, I have been early, sometimes the train has been delayed. Always stressful, and the conflicting emotions when the delay is because, according to the announcement, "there was a person on the tracks."
I thought about being imprisoned, the endless wait for one hour of exercise, for food to break up the time.
I wondered about the finality of outside the now is only so much time left.
Bravo!

Wow: thank you for this lovely and very personal feedback. It is always so interesting to hear which association an observer may have. I had to wait on train stations very often, because I weekly had to go long distances by train for teaching. Perhaps I subconsciously processed this experience in the film.
With the last sentence of the first passage I wanted to allude to different time concepts. 'Cutting' time was for me a kind of transition from a polychronic time perception to a monochronic. Both have specific advantages and disadvantages. Acting in a monochronic time concept may make time more manageable but also there will be an absolute end (not a circle, where everything may start again)
Hopefully my English was sufficient to explain my thoughts :-)

Your English was great - the poetry of the words and the video (the images and the music) led me to many different thoughts and ideas. It is unusual to have this kind of deeper experience here!

I am blushing again - thank you so much!!!

Wow what a cool entry! As someone who has fought with video editing software I will firmly agree that you won! Thank you!

Thank you, but I am not so sure... If it were possible, I would burn this programm :-DDD

Great work @neumannsalva, well deserved first place girl!

Thank youuuuuuu 😘

Excellent entry, congratulations and success

Happy you like it and thank you!!!!

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.30
TRX 0.11
JST 0.033
BTC 64271.38
ETH 3157.43
USDT 1.00
SBD 4.25