ART EXPLOSION WEEK 33: Theme SURREAL/ Serenity

in #artexplosion6 years ago

Hello Steem!)
Today I draw for the contest of @juliakponsford and @vachemorte.
The contest inspired me to create not just a small drawing but a whole picture with oil.

Surrealism is characterized by allusions and a paradoxical combination of forms, visual deception. I drew the picture quickly, in two sessions. At the heart of the picture I tried to convey a smooth flow of some objects to others. So, the girl's hair turns into foamy streams of the waterfall, her body - into the bends of the mountain and the foam of the waterfall gradually becomes clouds on the clear blue sky that appears on the site of the pond. There are two skies in the picture, but they differ dramatically from each other, being as if in different realities: one - evening, red because of sunset, another - blue and clear. Initially, I wanted to make a second sky in the place of the pond inverted, but it turned out to be similar to reflection, so it was decided to dilute these two planes by color. I gave the name "Serenity" to the picture.






So, let's move on to the process. For the painting, I used a primed canvas on cardboard. I outlined the contours of the future image with a simple pencil.





Start painting over the top of the picture. Paints at all stages of drawing superimposed tightly and densely. With soft synthetic brush painted the sky in blue. In addition to the sky, I painted mountains in the background in purple and white colors, quite a bit mixing them directly on the canvas.





Now I turn to the figure of the girl. Initially, I slightly marked the contours of the face and body, passing into the mountains.


With a fine brush, I painted the girl's sleeping face. I drew her white curls, passing into the waterfall, applying strokes in the direction of the current. I painted the mountain slopes in the background with brown.



I added a pond to the picture. I drew flakes of foam floating from the waterfall and turning into clouds. The clouds are still marked with broad brush strokes with a soft synthetic brush, using white mixed with red and violet-gray colours. I painted stones on the water.



Then made a blue paint, which characterizes the clearest summer day and compacted the "second" sky. "Сombed" the clouds, gave them a more decent shape.



I painted the sunset on the upper sky, adding bright red and yellow colors to it. Mixed white with red paint and painted the pink clouds with almost dry brush (practically without solvent). In the second sky added birds and a balloon, taking it away from similarity with reflection on the water surface and translating it into another reality.


Final touches: to correct minor shortcomings, to emphasize small details. The picture is ready.


Thank you for your attention! I will be glad to see you visiting my blog! Please, subscribe!

Sorry for my poor English. I have not practice for a long time.

Sort:  

This post is worth a follow ! Did you know that you can automate your account? AutoSteem.info You Get 0.1 STEEM Just to Join!

Such a cool process, with beautiful result!

Thanks to @randomwanderings, this post was resteemed and highlighted in today's edition of The Daily Sneak.

Thank you for your efforts to create quality content!

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.19
TRX 0.14
JST 0.030
BTC 60268.51
ETH 3201.96
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.43