You are viewing a single comment's thread from:

RE: A monument for women artist - artexplosion and needleworkmonday combo

Wow all the words in this post are very powerful, I especially loved this: Their tiny hands can work small and intricate patterns of flowers and hate.

I find it interesting that crafts are devalued as you say. Sailors often used to knit to pass the time and crochet can also be a valuable tool for making nets and hammocks and lots of other things. But there is a stigma for men doing these things now, silly.

Beautiful art as always with beautiful words <3

Sort:  

Thank you so much for the compliments!! And thank you for your contest. I am a deadline worker and having these two weekly deadlines helps me to stay focused.
At first I was a bit angry with your "no theme" theme :-DDD I thought: “I will give her 'no theme'. I will make something absolutely incomprehensible.” But then I was so exalted with all the connections and allusions of this fiber art... I think I will stick with this medium for longer :-D
And you are right, gender roles are still very strict in some communities and I always must stop myself to argue over alleged male or female attributes. Your crafting fisher being one of them. Or the colour pink which was an indicator for Jesus Christus (as a young male, because the male colour was red in the late middle ages). Right now, I have several friends who refuse to dress their baby boys with pink, because for them it’s a woman colour and will make the babies gay (ahhhhhhhh.... hear me scream) They won’t/ can’t understand how arbitrarily and changeable these attributes are (never mind that these attributes do/say nothing about one’s sex/gender/orientation)
Perhaps it is better if I make art, if not I would kill (ok, not kill, but be a permanently angry debater)
Sorry for the long comment
Actually, I wanted to say thank you :-D
Thank you

At first I was a bit angry with your "no theme" theme :-DDD I thought: “I will give her 'no theme'.

Hahahaha, awesome, well in the end you sure showed me because it was pretty amazing!

And you are right, gender roles are still very strict in some communities and I always must stop myself to argue over alleged male or female attributes.

I agree with this and everything after, its all culturally engrained, I wonder how long it will take us to stop worrying about petty nonsense like who should wear what colour, there are much more important things to worry about!

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.20
TRX 0.13
JST 0.029
BTC 66682.62
ETH 3447.75
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.73