"George the Human"(Advocacy/entry to ART EXPLOSION WEEK 35: Theme CIRCUS by @juliakponsford

in #artexplosion6 years ago (edited)

Hello guys, I hope you're all good, I'm gonna share to you my entry of artexplosion week 35 with a theme Circus. But before that, I just want to share my insights on how I came up with my artwork/entry. Lately I've been thinking, how can I make a change, how can I inspire people, and how can I bring a message to everybody, a message that is meaningfull and can bring great impact to someones life and to the community through my works. So I told myself, why not make or create something significant here on steemit everytime I post, that will send a message to everybody.

Like in this contest, I've tried to dig deeper and try to conceptualize something that will be in line with the theme and at the same time, I can share an advocacy that can spread awareness to every social issues we're dealing with. Because even though we've heard a lot of advocacies to prevent or cure the social issues currently we are facing, there's a reality that people will always tend to continue in doing the wrong things, even if warned a hundred times, maybe just because of so called "Human Nature", and I believe it's not great excuse to compromise our awfull behavior. That's why, it lead me to create this blog, even people say they've already heard about this, about that, "I" will, or I say, "we" should always remind people, humanity, to be responsible, to give importance and respect to all forms of life.

Here's my Entry:

George the Human.png

So as you can see there's a man with a suit, not probably a man, a lion actually, holding his whip behind his back, and to his front a man, lying naked, so what the reason behind this illustration? Since the the theme is "Circus", since we all know circus does not only composed of human performer, they also have a very clever and talented animals which is trained to do something extraordinary.. And we salute those person who train and put their effort to teach animals to learn some tricks and entertain the audiences, but there's a reality covered by the curtains of entertainment that some animals are forced and treated miserably just to make them submit and follow the trainers order, I'm not taking this in general, this is to some people, that endlessly mistreat and abuse those poor animals. I'm not only stating this in the place of Circus, but it also happen to every home and community, not just trainers, but also to pet owners, animal abuse is present everywhere.

As you can see, there's something odd with the illustration, because I've changed the situation, having this perspective, what if we place ourselves to the situation of animals, I want you to think of it seriously and wholeheartedly. Would you be happy if you're forced to do something which you're not supposed to do, and someone will cause pain to you, just for you to do what he wants and ask for, and you can't do something for it, think of it,

Check this gif right here,

received_1841924205830953.gif

(Looks adorable and cute right?)

But there are some cases that, just like this dog, (not referring to the dog in gif) some trainer/owner, ruthlessly beat the fore leg of the dog, until the dog adapts and try to walk with his hind leg, with a fear of being beaten again by his trainer/owner. Now try to put yourselves in the shoes of every animals that are mistreated. I'm not condemming someone, what I'm trying is to bring a message and I just want to share the truth, and I admire those those people who have a great job treating their animals, pet well, giving the affection the love they deserve. But less us all be aware that not everyone can love and take care of their animals just like what animal lovers do. Because the same to us humans, they also have a feeling and emotion, they can feel excitement, happiness and love too. In relation to that, people must know this "Right" our animals must have, and one of what I'm thankfull about is Philippines have created a law which is

REPUBLIC ACT NO. 8485

AN ACT TO PROMOTE ANIMAL WELFARE IN THE PHILIPPINES, OTHERWISE KNOWN AS “THE ANIMAL WELFARE ACT OF 1998"

This act, was created to protect and preserve the right of animals here in Philippines, which I also believe, other countries also have thier own laws regarding about Animal rights. We also have this organizations that supports the rights of animals, one great example is

250px-Pawslogo.jpg

The Philippine Animal Welfare Society (PAWS) is a volunteer-based, non-government organization whose goal is to prevent animal cruelty through education, animal sheltering and advocacy. PAWS believes that the creation of a more peaceful society starts with the widening of mankind’s circle of compassion which includes animals, thereby envisions a nation that respects animals, practices responsible pet ownership and protects wildlife. The volunteer-based organization rehabilitates these animals in the hope of finding them new homes and a second chance at a good life. PAWS does not take in pets of other people, only victims of cruelty or neglect where the animal offenders are charged with violation of the Animal Welfare Act in court.

(Source: https://en.m.wikipedia.org/wiki/Philippine_Animal_Welfare_Society)

Why am I sharing this, is for us to know that our government and non-government organizations is on our side, and as it's citizen we must try our best to do our duty and responsibilites in protecting the rights and precious lives of our animals. If not us, then who else? Let's start to make a difference from now on!

They need our Love, they need Care, they need our Help



PicsArt_04-09-01.56.01.jpg

And of course here's the process I've gone through in Illustrating my work.

First I started with the outline

Untitled.png

Next Adding shadow
Untitled 1.png

Then base color
Untitled 2.png

Then I add background
Untitled 3.png

Next is, I've added text
Untitled 4.png

After all is set, I've imported my work to photoshop to add some effect
Untitled 5.png

So that's all guys, thanks for reading my blog, spread the word to everybody! Adios!

And check this awesome bloggers ✍

@mikaelasinsuat4
@dandalion
@qyugmo
@kennik
@ediah
@jgonzalez2134
@mermaidvampire
@korinkrafting
@kothy
@looserwin

Please do support

@steemph
@stellabelle
@slothicorn
@surpassinggoogle
@stateofthearts
@steemitachievers
@steemitfamilyph
@steemgigs
@artzone

DQmU6EHRF2Pj2uHqT9hQtTHPVgmyBWgKoNeoPGWNB7Zo7Pj_1680x8400.png

Sort:  

I really like the art and the message is so important, circus animals always make me sad, it' hard to imagine they are happy in that life :/

Wow, thank you so much, @juliakponsford, I may not be able to submit at the right time but the important thing is, I've sent a message to everyone, and to be recognized by you is something.

Thank you so much @slothicorn !!!!!!!!!! Thank you

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.20
TRX 0.13
JST 0.029
BTC 66703.61
ETH 3518.80
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.68