ART EXPLOSION WEEK 33: Theme SURREAL

in #artexplosion6 years ago

This is my entry for the art explosion week contest by @juliakponsford

It´s titled "FUSION"
You can click on the image to zoom in

I think it´s the first time I make something surreal, so I hope It meets the kind of art asked.

My initial idea was to somehow show the fixtation of a tought in the brain. Inception is one of my favourite movies, so the idea behind it seemed like a good fit for the contest.

Let´s go with it!

This time I started with the background. Some kind of vaccumm that could represent an empty brain.
02.jpg

Throw some noise and excitement...
03.jpg

... and draw some "neuronal conections". Background done. Let´s move on. What idea do I want to fix in that empty brain?
04.jpg

Of course, a woman. Well, more like a zombie right now that is still a very rough idea and a quick drawing to act as layout.
05.jpg

It´s color time...
06.jpg

... and render, render and render time then. I´m sorry, I´m showing you all the ugly stages.
09.jpg

After a bit more rendering, some layer mode twicking with and some FX courtesy of Painters Particle brush, the girl is done.
10.jpg

It´s time to add the background. I changed it a bit because it was very saturated and very busy overall. I want the attention on the figure so I darken it a bit and adjust a bit the color.
11.jpg

Last step, as usual, is to bring the image to lightroom. I´ve cropped it a bit and add some glow effect that kind of remind me to the 80´s "Heavy Metal Magazine" artwork and I like a lot.
12s.jpg

Made by - @javicuesta

I hope you like it. Thanks to @juliakponsford for organising the contest and give us the opportunity to challenge ourselves!

Thanks for watching!

Sort:  

Congratulations! This post has been upvoted from the communal account, @minnowsupport, by javicuesta from the Minnow Support Project. It's a witness project run by aggroed, ausbitbank, teamsteem, theprophet0, someguy123, neoxian, followbtcnews, and netuoso. The goal is to help Steemit grow by supporting Minnows. Please find us at the Peace, Abundance, and Liberty Network (PALnet) Discord Channel. It's a completely public and open space to all members of the Steemit community who voluntarily choose to be there.

If you would like to delegate to the Minnow Support Project you can do so by clicking on the following links: 50SP, 100SP, 250SP, 500SP, 1000SP, 5000SP.
Be sure to leave at least 50SP undelegated on your account.

Congratulations @javicuesta! You have completed some achievement on Steemit and have been rewarded with new badge(s) :

Award for the number of upvotes

Click on any badge to view your own Board of Honor on SteemitBoard.

To support your work, I also upvoted your post!
For more information about SteemitBoard, click here

If you no longer want to receive notifications, reply to this comment with the word STOP

Upvote this notification to help all Steemit users. Learn why here!

These are amazing!😀

Hello! I find your post valuable for the art community! Thanks for the great post! ARTzone is now following you! ALWAYs follow @artzone and the artzone tag, and support our artists!

Hi, it is a beautiful piece of art, the colors are very nice, I love how you managed it digitally, I still draw the traditional way but love the digiart too! I am busy with learning more about it :) good luck X

Thank you! Digital is just a tool, in a way it´s like the dark side of the force, quicker, easier, more seductive, but the truth is that you´ll learn more by the limits the traditional media imposes, just keep drawing! Good luck to you too. You´ve a disturbing piece, I like it! :)

Yes it is nice to have a bit of both, and I will I love drawing and everything that comes with it.

Thank you I am glad you like it! X

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.18
TRX 0.13
JST 0.028
BTC 64911.06
ETH 3194.94
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.60