Two-tailed mutant lizard - ART EXPLOSION WEEK 49: Theme MUTATIONS

Lizards often defend themselves from predators by self-amputating their tail to create a distraction and escape danger. Over time the tail of the lizard grows back, but sometimes during regeneration a "cartilaginous cord bifurcation" occurs which results in a lizard with two or more tails, and when that alteration occurs they are considered as mutant lizards. That's why, when I saw the announcement of the contest of @juliakponsford I decided to participate and create art based on a mutant lizard made with the technique of pointillism, this is my entry to ART EXPLOSION WEEK 49: Theme MUTATIONS

Two-tailed mutant lizard

definitiva.JPG

licencia creative cosmmons: Licencia de Creative Commons
Este obra está bajo una licencia de Creative Commons Reconocimiento-CompartirIgual 4.0 Internacional.


Materials

-White cardboard sheet.
-Graphite pencil.
-Sponge.
-Metal stick.
-Paintings.
-Scissors.


Process

On a piece of white cardboard I drew with pencil the silhouette of a lizard with two tails with curved shapes, Then, using the scissors, I cut the silhouette very carefully until it was completely removed from the cardboard.

lagartija1y2.jpg


I took the sponge and a few drops of brown paint with which I completely covered the body of the lizard, applied two layers of paint to obtain a uniform surface. Then with the white paint and a metallic stick I marked circles on each of the fingers of the lizard, and also painted the eyes of this animal.

lagartija3y4.jpg


With a thin metal stick I painted small chain stitches on the edges of one of the lizard's extremities, connecting the small dots to the larger circles that were on his fingers.

lagartija5.JPG


I repeated the process of placing small chain points on the edges of each limb, and filled in the interior space of each leg with larger spots of green and fuchsia. Around the eyes I formed an aquamarine dots chain followed by two chains of tiny white dots. I also gave shape to the animal's body creating chains of white dots that would delimit areas that I would then paint using other shades of paint.

lagartija8y9.jpg


For the head of the lizard I used a lot of blue dots and some green aquamarine paint spots to fill the whole space. To mark the points I use metal sticks and in some cases round tip needles of various sizes.

lagartija10.JPG


To fill the abdomen I used the same tones of paint with which I decorated the head of the lizard. In this picture you can see the stick I used to mark these points.

lagartija11y12.jpg


the left area of the upper part I filled with dark green paint carefully marking each point.

lagartija14.JPG


For the most important part of this work (the two queues) I wanted to use very small points that made it difficult for me to do pointillism, but with a little patience I managed to do it. As you can see, I marked in the tail big points in the center and small points on the sides, for these I used light green and fuchsia paint up to the middle of the tail.

lagartija15.JPG


For the remaining part of the tail I marked a trickle of tiny dots with purple paint, and with light blue and aquamarine green I finished the rest of the tail.

lagartija18.JPG


In the lower part of the abdomen I painted light white and green spots in circular formations following the same pattern until covering the entire space.

lagartija20.JPG



Final Result

During the whole process that I showed you before, I used an orange cardboard as background, this in order not to stain the surface on which I painted, but having the work ready I put it on a sheet of white paper to take the final photos, here I share with you the most important one:

definitiva.JPG


VIEWS BY SECTIONS

1

seccion1.JPG


2

seccion2.JPG


3

seccion3.JPG


The realization of this mutant lizard took me three days of work, since I had to wait for each area to dry to continue with another, and also for the pointillism complex using paint I had to clean the metal sticks again and again. I hope that this work is liked by everyone who takes the time to appreciate it.


Thank you!

pestaña.jpg

Sort:  

Espectacular. Un hermoso y meticuloso trabajo. Es una verdadera obra de arte. La armonía de los color, la forma en que lo hiciste... Gran, gran trabajo. Te felicito por esto, y espero que sea bien recompensado. Te lo mereces.

Muchas gracias, es un gran halago si viene de parte de un artista como tú.

Hi iraidamatheus,

This post has been upvoted by the Curie community curation project and associated vote trail as exceptional content (human curated and reviewed). Have a great day :)

Visit curiesteem.com or join the Curie Discord community to learn more.

beautiful what you have done with your hands, what a great work of art @iraidamatheus. I like how you put the colors in each part of the lizard a lot of vision you have when making a great art should do it at home for the door of my room @neymarth10

Cute this lizard, mutant lizard!! haha this have him psychodelic touch, i like it, very much, every color is good worked, also your pointillism is so clean, goodvibes for u, and respect Iraida.

wow he estado siguiendo tu trabajo y confieso que me encanta la expresión de tu arte @iraidamatheus.

Well you learn something every day! I didn't know that they could sometimes grow back extra tails. Extra confusion for the predator next time maybe.
I love the dot marking approach. It reminds me a bit of the Australian native paintings, but more vivid. A beautiful exercise in patience.

That's right, every day you learn something new. It is curious the defense mechanism developed by these animals. And yes, this kind of work requires great patience. Thank you

That looks really cool ! I love how simple it first looked with the paper lizard, and then you made a really cool artwork using dots only.. great job!

Thank you very much, I love turning something simple into something complex and colorful like this lizard

Beautiful lizard, I like the way you started it and explained what you are doing and how, I believe your process could be used in school for the art classes, I can remember from my son how he was excited to do such creative things and was very proud to bring them home. The colors chosen very well and matching to the whole idea of lizard. I do not think it bothered much having two tails it is even great just in case it loses one still has the second :)

Hahaha, maybe this lizard has two opportunities to distract a predator. Thank you very much for such a good comment, I was flattered by your idea of using my explanation in art schools

You are very welcome and I am glad that next time you may think what would be interesting for children and probably do something that could be integrated in such lessons :)

This is a great idea! When I've seen a lizard with two tails I freaked out. It's something what you don't expect unless you've heard about that already. After my experience, I read about it and was fascinated by how clever these creatures are..

Your art work starts so simple, with a piece of paper. But what you create out of it. WOW! Your lizard is stunning. So colorful and created just by applying dots on the paper. It reminds me of exotic countries, I don't really know why.. but it could be that it looks like a pattern that I've seen on some tiles somewhere in Morocco, not so sure.

Anyway, it's lovely :) Thank you for sharing!

If it must be impressive to get with an animal that has that mutation, it has not happened to me yet. Perhaps you have seen a similar art from Mexican culture such as alebrijes, although these are based on lines and figures. Thank you very much for your comment

I did now know about mutant lizards so that comes interesting.

And you ended up with a cute colorful izard. Very creative! 😊 How big is it?

hello, it measures about 15 centimeters, because it was a little bit difficult for me because I had to mark smaller points

That is still pretty big for a lizard. You are very patient completing the art for such a big one. 😊

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.30
TRX 0.12
JST 0.034
BTC 64136.70
ETH 3128.20
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.94