ART EXPLOSION WEEK 19 ENTRY: BROKEN

in #artexplosion7 years ago (edited)

Hello friends! This is my first time to join @juliaksponsford's Art Explosion Contest. Yehey! Week #19's theme is broken.

I wanted to dance, sing, and do different crazy stuff here but I will just limit it into a watercolor painting and a short prose dedicated to those who were broken. The prose and the watercolor painting procedure goes together. I actually wanted to minimize the photos taken, but I chose not to so that you will have a better view of the process.

This is the output by the way. I really wanted this theme that is why I am so ecstatic in joining. I decided this subject because I wanted to portray that even broken things are still beautiful.

20171204_214403.jpg


You were broken, but to me you are still perfect

The moment you were born, I already knew you are the one that was made to complete me. You thought of yourself as an unfinished product. You thought you were grey. You thought you were only scribbled on a notebook with a pencil. You thought you were insignificant. You thought I hated you for putting ugly eyes on you and leaving your skin pale using watercolor.

You undervalued yourself just because you were made up of strokes on four (4) different thin brushes, and a watercolor cake.

But to me, you were more than perfect. I could clearly see the lines that were present even though you were did not reach the level of completeness. Your nose were cute and shaped like an inverted number seven. Your hair? Oh I love your messy hair with flowers on top of it. You are a living masterpiece.

Even though you are still not complete, I already love you.

20171204_203747.jpg

True that your brows were not perfect. It was noy arched the way others style their brows. Yours were designed that way for you to look so exotic, but at the same time wonderful. I added brown on your eyelid so that you could continue on captivating me. You never liked the color maroon red near your eyes, but it suited you well the moment I laid my brush on your eyelid.

A thin brush was also used to specifically work on your eyelashes. You complained that you look dull with short eyelashes, but to me, you look so adorable. Your eyes speaks more than your eyelashes do that is why I wanted to see more of your eyes.

I also carefully stroke my brush with different tones of brown so that you would stop telling me you look pale and sick with flesh only.

20171204_205335.jpg

You were so excited when I started painting your left eye but then again you were so sad because you feel so alone. You never wanted to be alone, lest your lips will remain dry. I painted it with pink at least to show your glow despite of your unchanging mood.

Since you wanted a black hair, I made your hair black. Just like in the advertisement, black is beautiful. I started stroking my brush with black paint on your hair, **I was so excited but you were not since you feel so lonely and broken. **

Little by little, I started adding details to your nose. I joked and told you that I will make your nose like that of Shrek. You were still unimpressed with my joke.

20171204_210059.jpg

Since my joke was not working, I added few details on your face. You were still so down while I added shadow on your neck and painted your forehead and left side of your face with maroon, pink, and browmn. You were still unsatisfied so I tried my best to make you look more beautiful.

And so you said, I may be beautiful on the outside but still broken on the inside. You bit your lips so it bled and turned a little bit darker.

20171204_211231.jpg

Your face was almost complete so I focused on your hair. I took your advice to focuse on you alone and no one else. Your beauty alone is captivating me so you need not tell me those words.

I remember you told me you wanted to have red flowers so I made some for you and put on your dress. The red roses were as stunning and lovely as you are.

20171204_211614.jpg

Because of your adoration of roses, I put some on your hair with some leaves too. You said, I am almost finished but I am still broken. I wanted to hug you tight, make you feel okay as your dearest friend, but I cannot.

All I could do for you is to make you more beautiful. You wanted to look away but you cannot. Your lips were trembling as you said you wanted dark red lips. I granted your wish. I slowly painted your pouty lips with red paint mixed with some maroon on my palette.

20171204_212621.jpg

You said you wanted to leave. You wanted to sleep because you were already tired from being restless and broken. I said no. I painted your dress with nice yellow. Although you feel so blue, I still wanted to show to them how sunny you can be someday when you do not feel like you are broken. You smiled a little and told me that you also hope you would not feel bad anymore.

I asked you what you still wanted me to do to you, you told me you want to have some flowers on your clothes so I put some on it using bright and dark red on your clothes.

20171204_214235.jpg

You smiled at the thought that I only used thin brush on you and after almost an hour, you were already complete. Like I told you, no matter how broken you feel you are, you will always be beautiful. You will always be loved. And to someone's eyes, you will always be perfect.

Lots of love,
Johanna Gail

Sort:  

The @OriginalWorks bot has determined this post by @gailbelga to be original material and upvoted(1.5%) it!

ezgif.com-resize.gif

To call @OriginalWorks, simply reply to any post with @originalworks or !originalworks in your message!

I'm amazed by your work!

Oh thank you so much that you appreciated it. ♡ all for the love of art. -johanna gail

Upvoted and re-steemed!
Walang tulugan ate?Left an art contest post by topkpop on discord.

I cannot sleep. I do not know how to na. =( hahaha thank you dear. Will definitely check it out.hugs and kisses

beautiful.. :)

I hope you win! I'm rooting for you talaga :D
Your artwork is seriously so phenomenal every time I see it.
I'm so jealous of your artistic abilities...I wish I could make art as nice as yours!

good one ...nice :)

Thank you gail this is a beautiful entry both the text and the image :)

Thank you for appreciating it dear. It moves me a lot to do better and strive better in art <3

Wow that's an awesome entry @gailbelga!
Well written and drawn! :)

Thank you so much dear, I hope to come up with more stories and artworks in line with those. Cheers!

excellente work! you have a very good talent!

Thank you so much for appreciating it sir. I aim to make a good content post. <3

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.16
TRX 0.13
JST 0.027
BTC 60728.87
ETH 2661.87
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.50