Holy Guardian Alien

in #artexplosion7 years ago

DSCF9767.resized.JPG

This is my entry for Art Explosion contest. This statue/sculpture was made a long time ago but I never shared it on Steemit before. When I saw that this weeks theme is aliens I just had to share it!

This is a representation of my Holy Guardian Angel. I began creating it in the last weeks of Abramelin Operation. The statue took its final form after I completed the operation.

Method

The statue is made using multiple media. I used a jewellery stand as a base. I created the bulk of the head and arms with salt dough and covered the entire statue with milliput clay. The wings are made from wire and fixed with milliput. I sanded the statue to make it smooth and painted it with enamels. Once the form was ready I decorated it with jewellery wire and attached serpent earrings to the wings. I also added a layer of nail varnish to make the eyes shinier.

The statue stands approximately 30 cm tall and has similar wingspan.

Symbolism

The statue combines elements of an angel with that of a grey alien from which it takes its name Holy Guardian Alien. It is inspired by my personal experience of Higher Self and Cosmic Consciousness that manifested to me as an extraterrestrial in childhood and later on. Serpents on the wings are a reference to the Egyptian symbol Behedeti, the winged sun.

Colours

I deliberately combined gold with silver and copper to emphasise Hermaphroditic, pansexual nature of the entity. In western mysticism, HGA is associated with the Sun. Solar energy is considered male or masculine. My experience of HGA didn't conform to this symbolism and I wanted the statue to express it.

DSCF9770.resized.JPG

Sort:  

Very interesting entry, this is the first time someone has submitted a sculpture :) Thanks it's really cool and I like that you included the symbolism behind it!

Thanks, I'm glad you like it.:)

that's one of the coolest artwork i 've seen:) I loved the combination of ideas, an alien angel is indeed sth that often comes in my mind. Upvoted and followed, keep up the good work:)

I'm glad the sculpture resonates with you. :) Thanks for the follow, upvote and your feedback. It's much appreciated! :)

St. Alien the Archangel,
defend us in battle.
Be our defense against the wickedness and snares of the Devil.
May God rebuke him, we humbly pray,
and do thou,
O Alien of the heavenly hosts,
by the power of God,
thrust into hell Satan,
and all the evil greys,
who prowl about the world
seeking the ruin of souls. Amen.

nice this post

Thank you. :)

Thanks for participating. Great entry!

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.17
TRX 0.13
JST 0.027
BTC 59727.23
ETH 2674.33
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.44