Art Explosion 26: Painting of a Lady with Her Bicycle in a Grassy Land

in #artexplosion7 years ago

Hello!
This is my entry for the art explosion contest which is hosted by @juliakponsford . Thank you, Julia, for hosting this great contest. I think everyone should participate too as it is really fun! Here is the link: https://steemit.com/art/@juliakponsford/art-explosion-week-26-theme-vintage-25-steem-in-prizes-all-forms-of-art-welcome

Final.jpeg

This painting is about a young lady taking a walk while holding her old bicycle in a grassy land. She collects a few flowers that grows in there and placed it on her hat. She really enjoy watching the sun is setting.

The theme of this week is vintage, so I was thinking about a person who wears a vintage clothing. And I chose to paint a young lady because it is suitable to add some vintage-themed accessories on her.
In this watercolor painting, I also added an old bicycle with her. In my country, Indonesia, this bicycle was very popular about 20 years ago. But nowadays, it is very rare to see this bicycle on the streets. So, I think this bicycle is suitable for this theme. A vintage small bag, leather shoes, vintage dress and a vagabond hat were also added to this painting to emphasize the vintage theme.

I will show you the process of the painting is done.

1.jpg

I started to draw a quick pencil sketches on a watercolor paper 200 gsm. I drew what was in my head at the moment. And found a girl and an old bicycle theme. This sketch took about 15 minutes.

2.jpg

After that, I drew a smoother drawing and added the grassy background with a fineliner pencil.

3.jpg
I colored the background with watercolor and then continue to paint the girl.

4.jpg
I had done with the base color and then I started working for the details.

5.jpg
and now is the tiresome part. It was the time to paint the grasses and the details. I spent hours for this.

Final.jpeg
AND EVERYTHING IS FINALLY DONE!

And here is the closer view of her face.
IMG_20180203_171458.jpg

I like to paint this. Thanks Julia for the contest! I really enjoyed it. I'm also going to join your next contest. I can't wait for it!

Oh yeah I also want to tell that this is my second time doing watercolor art. I am used to draw with pen and pencils before.
This is my first post too, I just joined Steem platform recently and I love the people here. They are very kind and helping people with hosting an enjoyable free contest. I love it.

Sort:  

This is very cute and well done!

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.16
TRX 0.16
JST 0.030
BTC 58171.46
ETH 2472.55
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.42