Jenny's Art Contest Week #10: Power (My Entry)

in #artcontest7 years ago

2017-12-05 03.04.05 1.jpg

Hello everyone and good evening people of the Philippines and to our neighboring countries! At this point of time, I will share to you my entry for Jenny's Art Contest for this week with the theme of POWER.

Whenever I hear of the word power before, what comes up of my mind is not Wonder Woman but Sailor Moon instead hence I picked her as my subject! I grew up knowing her in front of the television screen and I really adored her. Aside from an innocent mind and heart, she is also powerful together with other girls.

I also wanted to cosplay her but my friend told me I should definitely be Chibiusa because I am small [and cute ahem] like her.

Process

Now how did I go over it? Here is the process!

Materials used:

Pencil
Watercolor paper short bond paper size
Simbalion watercolor
Prang water color
Thin paint brushes

The first thing I did is to make sure my brushes are clean and also the watercolor water to avoid contamination of dark colors. I also made sure that the surface I am working on is also clean.

After making sure that everything is all set, I started sketching my Sailor Moon concept.

20171205_133321.jpg

Unlike the anime version, I made her a little more beautiful like celestial beings. Basically, I used the concept of making Bisojou characters in anime. Her hair is also flowy and somewhat wavy too.

20171205_141103.jpg

And now the painting begins!

I started with the eyes. I used light blue at first for the eyes but then I was unsatisfied. I let it dry for few minutes and started painting it with darker shade.

I also painted the face and a portion of her shoulder as well. I used a variation of color brown. I made sure that the shadow is darker as well. I also added clavicle to make her sexier but at the same time more classy.

20171205_135550.jpg

I added emphasis on her face by painting the outline of her face with grey watercolor. Here eyebrows are also painted with color brown and red brown.

20171205_140026.jpg
I thought of adding a pink choker for female fatale aura. Shades of pink were also added on her cheek to make her lovelier.

20171205_140631.jpg

Do not worry! It seemed like I overdid the face but I did not. The color will turn lighter as the watercolor dries on the paper. I painted her hair then with yellow as dominant color and then with pink and orange.

20171205_142806.jpg

I started painting the background with shades of blue. I also painted her dress. Her hair is also shaded with a little bit of grey and outlined with black.

Before finishing it, I added more details on the background. I doodled different patterns of round shapes and lines. I also splattered some paint using my paint brush. For smaller coverage, I used my thin brush.

20171205_150134.jpg

And now I am done. Did you enjoy the process? It took me fun thirty minutes to finish it. Thank you for watching and supporting me. Have a great day!

gailbelga.jpg

Sort:  

I loved this show growing up. Great job drawing it. Do you sell your art? In the minnow support group, we have an art room for discussion and a swap room. Come check us out

I love to sell my artworks. Count me in please.

Hey, this is really looking good.

Oh thank you for appreciating this!

oh, another pretty girl from you!! :-)

Thank you dear. Have you joined this competition too =)

Love this! Beautiful !

Thank you dear ♡

beautiful Art. thanks

Oh thank you =)

It's the real funny art ..just ardor on your making ...Thanks

Oh thank you =)

Ah Ha! As soon as I saw I said "that's Sailor Moon"! Awesome work @ gailbelga!!

Indeed she is Sailor Moon. ○ okay. I have an emoji of it. Haha

A beautiful art @gailbelga.

Thaaaanks =)

Great piece. So glad you joined the contest this week. The voting phase is going up in a few minutes, don't forget to get your friends to come vote for you.

Oh gosh I forgot I need to be voted!

multi-talented girl! Can't wait to see her eating live chicken hahahahaha peace joke :D

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.18
TRX 0.14
JST 0.030
BTC 58613.96
ETH 3153.58
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.43