Everyone can be an Artist - Lesson 2

in #artclasses7 years ago (edited)

Pools 1 4inX4in watercolour and varnish on arcival panel 2017.jpg

I love to paint the things I love. I was told I always paint my backyard as a metaphor for what's around me a the time. I've been working on a series of pools. Its summer and I love to swim, but I don't have a pool...I just dream about having a pool, so I paint them from my mind.

We have a lot of water around us in Nanaimo. It's so calming to look out at the ocean every day but I'm finding it difficult to go swimming in it as there are so many jelly fish in our Salish Sea. They seem to be moving north and now we have them in spades.

We also have rivers and lakes but they are extremely cold so for now I'm painting pools.

I promised to continue the lesson I posted two days ago.

  1. Get all your triangle, circle and square and draw many of them, overlapping them wherever you want to. Fill every square inch of the paper. It can be computer paper or if you have art paper use that.

  2. Take your pencil and start coloring in the shapes. Use the same pressure on the pencil, but when you overlap a shape you've already colored it will look a little darker. If you have three overlaps it will look even darker.

  3. When you're finished all your coloring see if you can find shapes you like. You may see a tree, or a flower, a star or a figure or a building, depending on how you've layered your shapes. The more layering of the shapes the better. If you've colored every shape in and you want more shapes just trace them on top.

  4. When you've found new shapes in your configuration of layered circles, triangles and squares then take your pencil and outline the shapes. You may be surprised at what you find.

This excercise can take some time but it can be very relaxing.

Have fun and enjoy!

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.17
TRX 0.15
JST 0.028
BTC 60202.34
ETH 2423.33
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.43