"It is me, can’t you see?" / Artquest - Trail 23 (Artchallenge)

in #artchallenge7 years ago (edited)

"It is me, can’t you see?"

This wonderful piece of art work by Rene Magritte requires an enticed mind to decrypt its hidden reciprocal wonder. This original piece of work dates back to 1935 entitled Les Liaisons dangereuses. In its very nature, the artist portrays the delicate femininity of a young woman expressing herself in a stifled society (during 1935 era).

“It is not a mirror, nor a piece of glass.
It is me, can’t you see?”

It is neither a mirror nor a piece of glass. But it has a golden border. I will call it "the reveal". The woman holding it possibly naked, but careful enough to cover her feminine areas. The reveal exposes a part of her breasts, the wonderful child bearing hips, and her buttocks attracting the attention of the audience.

“My breasts are supple, so does my body.
I long to express myself as somebody”

The artist was careful enough to give the audience some evidence, that the exposed image belongs to the same woman holding that image. It is the colour of her hair that holds the tale. The pale colour of the skin is another indication that it is the same person.

“It is me can’t you see?
I just want myself to be free”

There are 2 facets to this image. One, the reveal reflects the nature of the woman who needs to be free. It is not just in terms of the physical sense, but also branches out to the aspects of psychology and personality as well. It is simply being able to express herself freely.

“But I am scared and worry myself,
Can you make myself embrace”

On the contrary, due to her very quarry nature, she needs protection and needs to be protected. This is significantly portrayed by the woman holding the reveal covering her feminine parts of the body.

By using this art work, the artist gives the audience a glimpse of the very nature of the society. It is the audience that needs to be able to decipher the hidden message of this art work.


This is my original work of reply to the ARTQUEST-TRAIL#23 #artchallenge run by @aksinya. Here is the original post https://steemit.com/artchallenge/@artquest-trail/artquest-trail-23-artchallenge-theme-announcement-100-trail-10-sbd-prize-pool-no-need-to-be-an-artist-to-take-part-nsfw

Sort:  

i like it! thank you!

Thank you very much. I Appreciate it. :)

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.24
TRX 0.11
JST 0.032
BTC 61914.69
ETH 3017.71
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.79