Black and White Fantasy Series

in #art7 years ago

Some of my earliest drawings were sketches based on the works of fantasy artists like Brian Froud. There was just something about the whimsical fluid watercolor style that I particularly enjoyed.

My style isn't very loose or fluid - it's pretty much the exact opposite. It is rigid and meticulous with solid lines and heavy contrast (I blame my German ancestry for this penchant - my people are a heavy lines and woodcut print people). Still - I think you can present something fanciful even in this strict illustration style.

IMG_8090.JPG
This is a model and friend, Phedre

I went back to my books of antique botanical illustration to provide some guidance concerning how best to present the flowers and plants.

IMG_8105.JPG
...and mushrooms (model - the lovely Bex)

Did I mention mushrooms? I did a lot of research on psilocybin producing fungi as the mushrooms of choice for this series

IMG_8111.JPG
such as these little beauties paired with model Lilith

I've been told that this series (there are a few more) looks like a coloring book. I tried not to take it personally (I'm not sure anyone ever told Albrecht Dürer that his stuff looked like coloring book art) --- and, in fact, tried coloring one in just to see what it would look like.

IMG_8103.JPG

I have to say --- even though I am quite thoroughly addicted to black and white - these drawings aren't half bad in color.

Sort:  

I really enjoy black & white graphic art & film. Keep up the great work & THX for this post! When you talk about about doing research for these to get things right IMO opinion the results you achieved prove you did your homework. You have an awesome talent. 7-3's!

Thank you very much - I appreciate it!

Thank you, kind lady!

Lovely drawings, well done

Thank you!

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.16
TRX 0.15
JST 0.028
BTC 54274.36
ETH 2279.16
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.33