A little something about myself

in #art6 years ago (edited)

This is my first day on Steemit, I think I should introduce myself properly to this community.

I'm currently a soul dancing between tech world and art world. I learned pencil sketching when I was a little girl. Regardless of my teacher's harsh teaching, which might be actually useful, I find myself enjoy the pencil movement on my fingers creating something pretty, and getting better every week. I doodled a lot in my middle school and high school, from manga style to realistic drawing. I never thought of doing art of a living before though, since my parents always say I might starve doing so. So I chose engineering as the major in school, and now work as one. In many aspects, I find engineering has a lot of similarity with doing art, both of which requires concentration, patience, quiet environment and dedication, both of which are very creative work.

There's about one decade between last time I doodled frequently and now. I don't know why I picked up pencil again this time, and become kind of obsessed with it, even dreamed of one day when I can do it as a full-time job and not starve from it :D. I sail in summer and go skiing in winter. So that left out fall. And Seattle fall is quite depressing, taking that it is totally enough to use your ten fingers to count all the sunny days from Sep to May the next year. I guess in the process of exploring activities in fall, I tried drawing again. And little by little, I was attracted by its charm again. The feel of creating something beautiful and creative, it matches with my personality well. I also find art as a wonderful way to express myself. I'm not a person who is very good with words, and sometimes I feel my feelings stuck inside me and cannot get out. Doing art gets those feelings out, on the paper, and become something beautiful.

This time, I choose not to go to a class, because I didn't had a good experience with my art teacher when I was little. This time I tried something new, which is trying to learn from art youtubers, and learn from internet in general. The self learning process actually works better for me. I am able to find out what my art lacks, learn from the pros for those aspects, and repeat the process and get better. I think my art teacher from middle school wasn't a bad one, he was just harsh, and teach in a boring way. Maybe that way works for some people, but I was just not that inspired by drawing similar pot or fruits week after week :D.

Anyway, this time, I don't have to follow my teacher's theory of first mastering pencil drawing on objects, then you can do figure drawing and colors. I am able to try a wide range of media and targets to draw, and find out where my passion mostly lives in. Now after couple month of trying , learning and improving, I found my passion currently lies in pencil, watercolor and digital. I have attached some of my work in digital pencil, and traditional watercolor.

Untitled_Artwork.jpg
stranger_things_monster-small.jpg

I'd like to continue sharing my work and my art journey with this community. I look forward to meet likeminded people here.


My other social links:
Instagram @zoee.xiao
Merch and prints: https://zoeexiaoart.redbubble.com

Sort:  

Hello!

Hi ~ How are you doing

I like your post and resteem it. Follow for follow & Resteem for Resteem.

https://steemit.com/blog/@pktubedotcom/good-morning-every-one

nice post dear

Hello my friend 🤗 Glad to meet you 😊 Great post 🖒
Follow me 😊🤗😘

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.28
TRX 0.12
JST 0.032
BTC 61619.35
ETH 3001.98
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.64