The Only One Of Its Kind

in #art6 years ago (edited)

It's been a rather solitary holiday season for me, as my most recent posts clearly convey.

Emotionally, I feel like I've done pretty well with that truth. It is what it is – no use agonizing over it.

Still, yesterday I found myself reminiscing about last year. While some part of me felt a little sad to remember time spent with my then partner's family – taking note of the marked difference between then and now – I found myself smiling at the recollection of one particular gift; a decidedly special thing that I spent many hours manifesting.

It's the nature of my creativity. When tasked with something different and interesting, I'll barrel forward without even pausing to eat – sometimes for days on end. Not proud, but it's true.

Last year, I had an adorable young human on my list whose gift requests presented an opportunity. You see....she had been known as a he just a few months earlier. She was a 4 year old farm resident who absolutely adored all things construction, with a particular love for/fascination with excavators. Yet she also longed for glittery, beautiful things.

What to give such a unique, wonderful little soul? I knew exactly what she needed, and I believed there existed no 'purchasable' item that might suffice.

So....I made her a thing worthy of her sparkly, dirt-loving spirit.


sprkexc59.jpg


A Bedazzled Excavator, Of Course

Yes – I spent at least 16 hours carefully gluing rhinestones and glimmering stars onto a toy excavator, and I had so much fun doing it! I also brushed on pink, purple, gold and iridescent glitter paint. In certain light, the glitter looked a bit like dirt. Perhaps not quite what I was goin' for, but...also kind of apropos.

Though this little machine was quite a bit smaller than the other excavator she received that morning, she loved it. She pretended it was the daughter of the bigger one, tied her to other toys and had them drag her around. Very cute.

It was oddly tricky to photograph, but I did my best to record something of its uncommon shimmer while it was still pristine.


sprkexc29.jpg

sprkexc30.jpg

sprkexc33.jpg

sprkexc26.jpg


Overkill, Perhaps?

I recognize that it may seem a bit ridiculous to spend so much time on a toy – to dedicate so much energy and attention to detail to a gift that's likely to be forgotten about/discarded in short order (just as all toys eventually are.) Yet this project was about so much more.

Of course, I wanted her to be delighted by the unlikely/unexpected combination, but – more than that – I wanted her to feel seen and loved and supported as she was feeling deeper into herself. I wanted her know she had permission (not that she needed it) to explore freely – that, whomever she discovered as she grew would be celebrated and adored. I wanted her to feel she had a place, no matter where she landed.

Beyond that – this wasn't just about honoring the wishes of a beautiful, gender-fluid child – it was also about recognizing how unique we each are and acknowledging that we don't all fit in neat little boxes that can be bought and wrapped, as is. We are such wonderfully diverse creatures that deserve so much more than the drab 'pink' or 'blue'/'black' or 'white'/'this' or 'that' choices we're given.

There's so much life in all those in-between places – so many shades of human not yet given nearly enough space on the shelves.

This...was my modest attempt to remedy that, even if only for this one little human.

I made her a toy, meant also to serve as a gentle reminder; even when its stars begin to peel, it loses its gemstones and becomes covered in dirt – it'll still be a dazzling, gorgeous, one-of-a-kind marvel...just like her.


sprkexc49.jpg

sprkexc69.jpg

sprkexc61.jpg

sprkexc51.jpg


raindrop-promo-thin.jpg

DPsteemitBNR1.jpg

Sort:  
Your thoughts and words are so beautiful, so loving. 🤗 What you have written here is a gift, in itself. Perhaps you could consider printing it, perhaps on special paper, and giving it to the child's parents. I am sure they would love reading this, as might the child when she is old enough to comprehend and appreciate what it says. It could be the gift that keeps on giving, even after the toy is abandoned in favor of makeup & earrings. And if she ever has doubts, she can re-read it as affirmation that she is loved. 💛

It's a wonderful suggestion, of course. I shall think on it a while. <3 Love you and your beautiful heart, KittyGirl. :)

There's so much life in all those in-between places – so many shades of human not yet given nearly enough space on the shelves.

Zippy, I love this so much. So much. You are an amazing human. Thank you for being you.

And thank YOU, Katrina, for seeing me. <3 Big hugs!

Such a beautiful piece and a beautiful way to tell such a beautiful story. Thanks @zipporah for sharing :)

I'm glad to know it's appreciated by others! I certainly enjoyed creating it – and sharing it, too! :)

That is probably the most unique gift ever! Lotta love went into that one. Impressive Zippy.🤗🤗😘

Posted using Partiko Android

It's pretty fun, isn't it!? How awesome would it be if my job were to make unique gifts like this, all daay long? Maybe it would get old, but...it's a lovely daydream. ;)

I just love this! One of my favorite things to do is make original gifts for others. Thanks for sharing this!
Ren

I really do enjoy this kind of thing. As I said to Witty; I daydream about doing stuff like this all day! :)

I like the way you spruced up that mechanical toy for your youngling @zipporah :P

Happy to know you like it! :)

No, we don't fit in neat little boxes, and neither does the amount of love you've poured into that glittering little dirt-machine, and this post. I agree with @thekittygirl and encourage you to also materialize these thoughts of love. You're an amazing person, thanks for sharing some of that love! 😍 💖

That is probably the most unique gift ever! Lotta love went into that one. Impressive Zippy.🤗🤗😘

Posted using Partiko Android

Hi @zipporah!

Your post was upvoted by @steem-ua, new Steem dApp, using UserAuthority for algorithmic post curation!
Your UA account score is currently 5.279 which ranks you at #756 across all Steem accounts.
Your rank has improved 53 places in the last three days (old rank 809).

In our last Algorithmic Curation Round, consisting of 204 contributions, your post is ranked at #55.

Evaluation of your UA score:
  • You've built up a nice network.
  • The readers appreciate your great work!
  • You have already shown user engagement, try to improve it further.

Feel free to join our @steem-ua Discord server

Hey I didn't realize you are from Portland! I've been there once and I really loved it!

Posted using Partiko Messaging

It is true – Portland's HOME for me. :)

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.19
TRX 0.15
JST 0.029
BTC 63744.49
ETH 2639.10
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.77