The Art of Collecting Stamps

in #art7 years ago (edited)

PhotoGrid_1501411233233.jpg

There are lots of things that people collect and can collect. Some examples of collections are coins, money, dolls, cars, antiques, shoes, bags, jewelries and game cards.

Collecting postal stamps is probably one of those not so famous collections as you can hardly find or meet someone who collects it. But did you know that some very famous personalities have this collection? Great example is Queen Elizabeth II and other members of the royal family. Based in Wikipedia, there are royal family members who started collecting postage stamps since 1864 and the first serious collector was Price Alfred. The British Royal family postal stamp collection was called the Royal Philatelic Collection.

PhotoGrid_1501410685315.jpg

Another great example is the 32nd US president Franklin D. Roosevelt. He was featured in postal stamps several times as a stamp collector such as in the photo below.

FDR.jpg
Photo source

Postal stamp collecting is an old hobby and there have been organized groups of stamp collectors in various countries. A stamp collector is also called as Philatelist which can be translated online as literally someone who loves stamps. It can be defined too as someone who collects and/or studies stamps. Personally I think that the term Philatelist is a term for those who really into the art of stamp collecting. This is for those who takes time in understanding the terms and invests in their collection.

So, I usually just coined myself as a stamp collector or simply a hobbyist. I started collecting postal stamps during my high school years. I became interested on it when we had a school project about stamps. During those times, I started to increase my collection by finding the old stamps in our household and from friends who willingly gave me their stamps at home when they learned that I am collecting those. Later I have bought some stamps from collector's shop. I have been a stamp forum member too and received some stamps from other members there. Below are examples of stamp albums from my collection.

PhotoGrid_1501411056475.jpg

PhotoGrid_1501411083478.jpg

There are lots of terms used in stamp collecting and will mention some common terms below.

Album - Used to store or display stamps and covers.
Cancel - A marking over the stamp to show that it was used already and not valid for postage anymore.
Catalog - A book with descriptive information in identifying stamps. There are catalogs that include values for the listed stamps.
Commemorative stamp - A stamp that was printed to commemorate a person, object, event or place.
Cover - Envelop with postal stamp which is typically cancelled or used.
First Day Cover – A cover with stamps postmarked on their day of issue
Glassine - A thin and semitransparent paper which is moderately resistant to the air passage and moisture.
Mint stamp - A stamp that was never used and on its original state.

For Other Terms Click Here

A small glassine envelop for my loose stamps.
PhotoGrid_1501410635568.jpg

Postal themed stamps.
PhotoGrid_1501410975506.jpg

Some of my commemorative stamps.
PhotoGrid_1501410916193.jpg

PhotoGrid_1501410944665.jpg

Some of my First Day Covers.
PhotoGrid_1501410838341.jpg

Stamps on Cover and Post card.
PhotoGrid_1501410860124.jpg

PhotoGrid_1501410784593.jpg

Some of the pages in my albums.
PhotoGrid_1501410711314.jpg

PhotoGrid_1501411000790.jpg

PhotoGrid_1501411028700.jpg

PhotoGrid_1501410813458.jpg

IMG_20170724_133839.jpg

Sort:  

Nice collection! I love the bird stamps!

Very interesting post, thanks !

Congratulations @zararina! You have completed some achievement on Steemit and have been rewarded with new badge(s) :

Award for the number of comments
Award for the total payout received

Click on any badge to view your own Board of Honor on SteemitBoard.
For more information about SteemitBoard, click here

If you no longer want to receive notifications, reply to this comment with the word STOP

By upvoting this notification, you can help all Steemit users. Learn how here!

Yeheey! Congratulations @zararina! <3

Thanks for visiting my post. :)

Nice, I inherited a collection of my great-grandfather. I really should check my parents house where it is. I always enjoyed watching them as a kid.

Nice, sounds like a great collection from your great-grandfather.

Beautiful and informative post. I used to collect stamps as a teenager... not that my collection was ever worth much. I liked the beautiful little pictures. Your collection is impressive!

Thanks. Collecting stamps is a lifetime hobby, I believe that you can pick it up anytime.
Have a nice day. :)

Hello its me infinity, nice post.Upvoted and followed. We are new here. Hope you will visit our blog.If you like our concept please upvote.We want to share our knowledge to whole world.

Thanks, followed you.

nice old school hobby - i can really relate to it and am now following you to keep this connection -David

Thanks. Good to know, followed back. :)

wow, you Rocked the Kasbah with this post, nicely done !

Cool collection, I had long not touch my collection. Guess is time to bring it out and curate.

Good to know another stamp collector here.

will definitely share it in my future post @zararina
#art #stampcollection

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.28
TRX 0.12
JST 0.032
BTC 62486.49
ETH 3015.74
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.93