Fleurs de Florence

in #art6 years ago (edited)

This drawing was suppose to go into my IFC Championship post - however it didn't quite fit into any heading and I wasn't quite ready to 'stop' drawing it ;)

You see, it just so happened that the due date for my post occurred during Hurricane Florence (thus the title). My head wasn't really in the place of 'writing' with so much going on in preparation for this hurricane. So I thought I would 'draw' - as I planned to do this anyway. I had, in total, 6 drawings to accomplish when I really wasn't sure I could draw even 1! LOL!

I happened to get a few started...but this drawing just seemed to take on a life of its own. Reminiscent of my very first drawing of a nest I did a couple years ago, it became a refuge of quiet contemplation while the winds outside were blowing violently, trees falling and an occasional branch hitting our windows. It allowed me to 'free flow' with abandon and soon the words for my IFC post on Forgiveness started to flow, too!

I fully anticipated that this topic of Forgiveness would ravage me with emotion....like the storm outside my window. In fact, the whole environment for this post seemed to take on a very real and symbolic reflection. But, interestingly enough, this drawing kept me anchored. Through the other drawings, through the turbulence of feeling, the occasional light flicker and words that sometimes hit me like a deluge of un-intelligable noise....there was this drawing there to keep me 'flowing'. I don't think I shed one tear....ironically. It kept my mind out of those truly heavy waters.

You won't find very defined and uniformed patterns in this drawing. I kind of broke all the rules - but in the end (as of 24 hours ago), I finally feel that it lived its purpose and is now 'finished'.

What did I learn from this drawing experience?

Sometimes you just have to let go and allow your inner self to show you the way - trust it and where it takes you.

Medium: Graphite

Sort:  

thank you for this image. It is beautiful. I appreciate your explaining what was going on around you and allowing your creativity to flow. Keep up the awesome work! Thanks for being you!

Good morning, @charisma777 :)

Thank you so much! Your comment is very much appreciated.

I'm so glad that you enjoyed the story behind the drawing. :)

It's like all the lower flowers reaching toward each other for comfort as the one that rise above them all is shielding and protecting the lower ones. I think it is a very nice drawing.

Thank you, @bashadow :)

It's like all the lower flowers reaching toward each other for comfort as the one that rise above them all is shielding and protecting the lower ones.

I like your words much better - beautiful! I can see that ;)

howdy there youhavewings! wow I'm sorry I missed some of your posts and then I saw that I hadn't followed you! dang..so sorry but I'm here now and I love this drawing, I didn't even know you were an artist! lol. it's wonderful.

It's a new chapter, @janton :) We'll see where it leads. I wouldn't call myself an artist in any real sense....I'm playing and dabbling.

Always wonderful hearing from you. I hope that everything is great in your world?

Blessings!

hey youhavewings! what do you mean you aren't an artist? lol. These are pieces of art, what would you call them? I think you must be too hard on yourself!
Furthermore, if this is just dabbling that I can't wait to see what happens when you get serious! That is if you keep doing this stuff..now I don't know if I should call it art so I'll just call it stuff. lol.

Me? my world? things suck right now but thanks for asking! lol.

No I'm just teasing. Mrs. J and I actually have huge plans but I may want to wait a little later to get into them because I gotta get to some accounts tonight but I may write a response later and you'll have it tomorrow when you get to it.

So, if I went fishing and I caught a big fish my first time out, would it be fair to say I am a 'fisherman'? No, I would say that I caught a fish. Bad analogy? I'm tryin' I made some art and I enjoyed it and I was surprised by it. We'll see what happens the next project. :) Come spring, I may take on an art class, too. A little direction would be nice.

You got me with 'things suck right now'! LOL

I'd love to hear about your 'huge' plans. That sounds interesting.

Good luck with accounting ;) Ugh Sounds exciting (not)

haha! howdy again youhavewings! wait a second..you'r not telling me that you've never done drawings and artwork and painting before are you?
that would be a little hard to believe.

No I don't do accounting I just meant that I need to get to some accounts, alot of people will respond only before a certain time so I need to get to them, I'm suddenly keeping track of people all over the world and what time of day it is for them and sometimes what they're schedule is! lol.

ok, the plans we have are huge so the comment may be a long one. but that will be late tonight.

I drew lady portraits as a child. My portraits didn't resemble these at all. Kind of strange, actually. I went decades without drawing. A couple years ago, I wanted to gift my mother with an art class because she just retired and I wanted her to explore her artistic gift. So my children's art teacher said that she would start an evening 'adult' class but my mother wouldn't go without me so I joined the class so she would go. Then she dropped out and I was stuck drawing this nest. This is how it began, @janton https://steemit.com/stateofthearts/@youhavewings/the-nest

That is so great that you are such a people person. You truly are! Big bright light you are. Steemit is lucky to have you here.

Don't stay up late to post your huge plans! Do it when you have some sleep. You're too funny!

oh I always stay up too late! lol. And thank you for your kind words, I'm very undeserving of them but I'll still accept them with gratefulness but I would like to talk about myself for a second which I don't like to do but you might find it interesting, what I have to say.

It's funny that you said I was a people person because that's never been said about me before, that I know of. I'm very shy and a classic introvert, always avoiding people.

Mrs. J calls me a hermit and that has always been true for me, I could live in a cabin in the mountains by myself with no problem!

In fact it took probably 6 months to join steemit and that was in February but I was so shy and didn't think I would be able to talk to anyone that I didn't make my first post for 2 months! lol.

Then when I got my first comment I didn't know what to do or what to say! It was there for a long time. I called Mrs. J in and said hey, someone on the other side of the world talked to me, what do I do? lol.

I'm so painfully shy that if it's a crowd or gathering I disappear, usually out the back or fade so bad that no one remembers that I was there.
But, I love people and on here that shows because it's a genuine love.
And that's why it works on here.

I've never been on a social media site before because I was too shy and I'm not a writer or blogger, this is my first try at either of those so that took me along time to even try to start because everyone, almost, is so talented here! So many great everything, artists, poets, authors, you name it like I know you know. ok that's all I had to say about me.

But what's important is your artwork, you're telling me that the nest was the first thing you drew like that? I mean it makes sense now that I know your mom was artist, at least I assume such skills can be in the genes.
that is amazing!

Good morning, @janton

This is stunning to hear - you are painfully shy? I know this too well myself but I am really surprised to hear that for you! Why?

Well, you have certainly found your voice here on Steemit and that is a beautiful thing. You have wings! ;)

Truly I think that the talent you see here on Steemit is just that people have a platform to explore themselves more and there are plenty of opportunities to do that and plenty of people to learn from.

So the storyteller in you is emerging! I love that! You are a great storyteller, @janton keep going with that and your wonderful people connecting.

That is truly cool! I am sorry that you are painfully shy though - I am the same. I just recently took that myer's briggs personality test and I was shocked to learn that I am an INFJ - the "I" stands for introvert and the rest of the letters mean that I 'feel' my world. And hey....it's an overwhelming world sometimes. I fit into only 2% which explains a lot! LOL I'd be curious what you are with this - INFJ or INFP? I have a link to it in my 'Re-Think Goals' post. It's really helpful to know this.

Anyway.....I am so happy to see that you are blossoming here on Steemit - I would have never guessed you were painfully shy. And I agree, your love of people is what makes this so natural for you - and people can pick that up. That is great!

My mom wasn't an artist, but she had a career that was artistic (hair, permanent cosmetics)...in my eyes though she was 'an artist' and I always wanted her to explore that more because I was sure she would be the best artist ever!

For me, I always wanted to be a writer but I settled into poetry and I got poetry block and on a whim (because I had to produce something) wrote out a few true stories and suddenly that part of me emerged. It's just super exciting to see this happening with so many people here. It's a great space to find your wings ;) It's like when we're 5yro our box of crayons are taken away and replaced with 'life' and we never got to develop that creative side. So I just love this and I love your story. You should write about that, @janton!

Love the drawing, really cool!

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.29
TRX 0.12
JST 0.033
BTC 63457.41
ETH 3119.12
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.94