yaari synopsis

in #art8 years ago

Ram Yaari synopsis Title : "A Life Well Lived"

The intention of an artist is to be eloquent, whimsical, interactive, intuitive, sensitive, co-creative and much, much more. This galloping Artist, like a herd of elephants storming across the Savanna of Africa, has truly lived in full, a life wearing many hats, while also working interactively and globally with his Art forms.

We begin this story in the now. Why the now? The now embodies the intensity of my life. In order to understand this intensity, I must mention also that I currently live on the strange and beautiful Island of Bali. I have resided here for the past 15 years. Since I have arrived, my life has been a roller coaster, full of adventure and happen stance. I stepped off the airplane, having no idea of where I had arrived. A lovely couple that I met in Los Angeles, in the midst of immense turmoil and change themselves, picked me up and took me to a small community called Sanur. There we stayed in the amazing home of a French and Dutch couple who were interior designers and art dealers. The next morning, waking up to a beautiful sunrise, we set off for my first home in Bali in the city of Ubud. It seemed like it took forever to get there. The way up was amazing, thinking that I would be taken to a regular house, we arrived to the many stairs of the Tjampuhan Ateps. With suitcases and portfolio in hand, a wonderful Balinese man helped carry my many bags to the lovely cottage I was to stay in. Surrounded by fish ponds, an upstairs loft and wonderful rice field view.

LIttle did I know, I had just been placed at the center of one of the oldest and most renowned Art Colonies in South East Asia. In the first few days I was introduced to some old friends of my mother's. I had limited funds and everyone was extremely generous and open. We went to several artist gatherings and an interesting array of questions were asked of me. I remember one in particular: Why Bali? I really didn't have an answer, so being myself with an over active imagination, I simply replied, "God brought me here for a reason. When I know Why Bali, I'll let you know. " I realized that these Artists were well seasoned professionals and that overstating my past success as an artist, may intimidate them and make them jealous of me. You see, I have been amazingly fortunate in my life.

It wasn't long before I got kicked out of Ubud and I ended up meeting who would end up being my partner in Love and Business, Ni. Made Toya. A talented, well traveled and extremely head strong young women. Together, we created our first fashion label called "Yaari Loves Bali". She was really taken by my work and decided to be my lifetime patron of the Arts. A whirlwind romance began and we moved into a broken down compound, built by a Dutchman. The property was obviously bankrupt and the landlord desperately needed investment. Being me, I moved in without a dollar down and the promise of a beautiful future. We built a beautiful property, interacted with the Seminyak community, square in the middle of the retail and tourism hubs of Bali. In the first 3 months, I was able to amass, with the help of Toya and others, a small fortune. We built a Cathedral Gallery and launched The business Yaari Toya. Success was on its way. After many parties and meeting the most eclectic array of international personalities, I thought, Wow, this must be home. Side note...culture, Love and money, sometimes makes strange bedfellows. Here I am, a world renowned artist, living on a small Island, full of artist egos with amazing creativity in many directions. Being myself I began involving many people in my life. Bali is a kind of conundrum, sex available everywhere, clubs going full steam, I decided to take advantage of the drama, just after the Bali bomb, and I immediately jumped in the deep end of the pool and started my first NGO campaign, Clean Up Bali. Working with already established NGO's, I'm an Angel, Vishnu and Soul Men, we actively put together body painting competitions, worked with climate conferences and Apec Conferences. This was an area I knew a lot about and I loved the idea of raising money to help others help themselves. Planting seeds for a better tomorrow. I continue to do this work now with Arma Museum and many other organizations. Writing this makes me happy and I hope has sparked an interest in you, the reader. Love and Light Yaari

Synopsis part 2

Yaari ran away from home at the early age of 12. The streets of Hollywood were very accommodating and he fell into circles that most would not survive, prostituting himself to the rich Hollywood Elites and getting the types of street smarts that no child should experience. The streets of Hollywood, were not where this young artist wanted to be. He quickly made friends and surrounded himself with his protectors so he was able to continue his illicit lifestyle of drug dealing and prostitution in order to support his girlfriend and several other runaway kids.

Many individuals in the entertainment industry looked kindly on Yaari. Offering him many kinds of jobs to get him off the streets. Of course they were interested in more than just getting him off the streets. Yaari soon learned to manipulate his way into situations where he did not have to sell his body or drugs any longer to support his young group of street kids. As things turned from bad to good, to bad again, the final blow in Hollywood hit hard. Yaari was arrested several times, finally his mother and her lawyers made a deal with the judge that they would send him to his sister's in Israel, where he would have to live under strict supervision, on a military keboots community. Being the out of control kid he was, he soon found his way to Tel Aviv where he started working for the top underworld mafia. After a short time he escaped and went for his first stint in Europe. Again, he began using his sexual talents in order to gain favors with extremely famous women and men. He finally caught a break and was given his second art exhibition. Deported from France, Yaari flew back to Los Angeles, where after one month he was hired by a rock band to tour as a PA and then continued working for many celebrities in the entertainment industry. He put himself through school wherever he could and took apprenticeships relating to his interests. At the age of 16, he knew that his life would be dedicated to the arts. Yaari was hired by Rod Stewart and his manager, Billy Gaff, to work in London as an office junior during the days and at night he went to art school. He spent the following 9 years working with Rod and his management. He was in charge of several different divisions of the company, launching with Viva Records, John Melemcamp, Long John Baldway, Tim Harden, Leslie Dunkin, Jimmy Horowitz. After leaving to strike out on his own as an artist, he moved around exhibiting all over the world. He started his first fashion company called "Its a Yaari" at the age of 23 and it was quickly sold in all the major department stores in America. His passion has always been fine arts so Yaari started opening his own galleries across the US, Mexico, Costa Rica, Israel and Spain. He flew from place to place, painting , dancing and generally involved in many things in life.

Part 3 - Question & Answer Interview with the artist

Andrea Interviewer:

Yaari Answer:

· At what age did you know you were an artist?

I was still in my teens, although I have to admit, I didn't really come to it fully until my early 20s.

· What was the first job you ever had and how old were you?

        I was very young, working as a paid apprentice in a jewelry design studio in North Hollywood.  At the same time I worked as a gopher for Robert Fitz Patrick who was a lawyer at the 9000 building on the sunset strip, working with Cream, Robby Shankar, John Lennon and many others as a west coast repetitive.  I also worked  at Universal Studios delivering mail to the stars after school.  On the weekend I worked part time job with Lou Whinestock and Tobby Roberts Tours. During that period I started meeting my first clients for sex.

At the time I was going to school in silver lake, based on the summer hill school in England. The LA freeschool allowed the kids to create their own curriculum. I missed many weeks of school and got kicked out. They put me in a special school called the USC reading center for at risk kids with learning disorders. I missed many weeks of that school and got kicked out also. Finally my mother got me released from the school system and decided to home school me

· At what age did you first get high?

        That's a funny story, I was hitchhiking home from school, when Lou Whinestock picked me up in his flashy car and offered me tickets to a Led Zeppelin concert at the forum.  Me and my girlfriend were picked up by a stretch limo.  We went to dinner and then to the concert, where Lou said open your mouth and he gave both my girlfriend and I very strong hits of Mescaline.  We tripped for many hours.  My girlfriend and I had sex with Lou and another girl, we didn't get back home till the following afternoon.  Our parents were furious and of course we were grounded for over a month. She was also the first girl I got pregnant, so her parents and mine split us apart. She miscarried and I was forbidden to see her again, which broke my heart a the time.

How much did your family know about your life in the early days?

        Well it depends on which parent and which guardian.  My father was completely oblivious on the other hand my mother was aware of most of my escapades.  Two completely different personalities and already divorced.  My mother had custody, but was unable to take care of me due to her illness, so I was given a guardian.  So I was put in the hands of  a friend of my mother's, Dale Cripts, who worked in the aerospace industry. He was a fairly wild bi-sexual man who gave me refuge in his mansion in Pasadena California.  He had many friends which were in education at the highest level, so I was able to go sit in on courses when they lectured at the different schools in the Los Angeles area.  I made friends with a gang of boys and girls called the GTO and BTO ( Girls together only and Boys together only).  I was the youngest member.  We would go out together to the clubs and constantly picking up street kids and bringing them to Dales house.  That's where I met my first real art teacher from Canada Marcus Leatherdale.  He came to live with Dale and I and Lauran.  Dale paid him to give me art classes.  That summer I had my super devastating accident crushing between a boat and a dock up at Lake Tahoe California with one of my richest clients, Glen Smallcon.  My mother got a huge financial settlement from Glen estate.  He was a super naughty pedophile.  His family owned the largest chevrolet car dealer ship in northern California. His mansion was in Atherton California, one of the wealthiest communities in California. 

Were you close to any of your siblings and did any of them factor into your lifestyle?

        This question is very good, you see, my sisters when I was very young, were part of the problem. Several of their friends sexually seduced me from the age of 10.

By the time I was 12 and a half, they left home to join the army in Israel. I didnt have any interactions with them at all, until they sent me to Israel after my trouble with the police. My relationships with my sisters to this day, to say the least is fairly strained. We have contact on a monthly basis, but nothing really concrete. They are all in my opinion really good people and I love them very much.

·

How did your early experiences of life affect you mentally and emotionally?

        Well all I can say is that it was quite a trauma to get over the hurdle of child abuse.  I have struggled over the years with several disabilities.  Having a learning disorder, somewhat of a speech impediment and suffering from drug and alcohol abuse, I was able to find help with a wonderful psychotherapist and several psychiatrist and I continue to spend time going to AA, NA and Alanon.  I have worked diligently to overcome all of it.  It is an ongoing process.

· Who was your best friend and what role did they play in your life?

        Well I can only say that in this respect, I have had many best friends and continue to this day.  One of the names that comes to mind is Burry Olson, an artist in Sonoma California.  We worked many years together, creating amazing wearable art which has been worn by celebrities and the public for the past 40 years.

· When and why did you decide to make art your focus?

Well first, my grandfather was a famous painter. My mother and several members of her family were art dealers and artists themselves. My father was an actor/director/producer. My sister Delete is a world renowned sculptor. I always loved art and art history of all kinds. And was inspired from an early age, first as a young actor, dancer/comedian and then as a painter. I love all forms of art and have amazing artists friends around me all the time.

· What do you want to achieve through your art?

        I have always wanted to evoke a response from others, weather good or bad, it did not matter.  My art is a form of meditation for myself and has saved my life many times over.  It is the process that makes it all worthwhile.  Art is a way of life, there is no half way in, it's all the way or nothing.  And life goes on.

· You have made your art into a business but you are very generous with your time and you always share your knowledge with others. You give great advice based on your life experience and you do a lot of things for free, why?

I was influenced early in my life to be a loving and sharing human being. I remember both my parents being generous with many new immigrants when I was growing up as a boy in Israel. Somehow, God has given me the gift of knowledge and the richness of experience, so I am naturally inspired to share all of that with others. Even at times when I was the one in need of help, I would stop to give a gift to a total stranger. I don't necessarily believe in charity, so sometime, it was difficult for me to accept anything from others. Let's just say what goes around comes around.

· Tell me all the places you've lived and why ultimately you settled in Bali?

My God, thats a loaded question. Ok, on a short term basis, which was not my preference. I have lived all over the world. Places I have spent the most time, for many reasons have been Los Angeles, which offered a connection to the entertainment industry, fashion and fine arts. New York for the same reasons, London, Spain, Israel, Hawaii, Santa Fe New Mexico, Vancouver Canada, Mexico, Costa Rica, France, Australia and Indonesia. I have yet to travel to some parts of the world and hope I do soon.

· What fulfills your life and spirit these days?

Being with my family especially my children, of course creating new forms of art, I still enjoy an occasional psychedelic journey, but my greatest love is still helping others help themselves. There is a myriad of inspiration that I could mention, mostly, I would have to say my art.

· Tell me about your wives and how they have been influential in your artisic journey?

Well as you know we sometime choose strange bedfellows. I have mostly been with women but have also spend two long term relationship with men, one of which was a non-sexual affair. My first wife died quickly after we were married and the same happened to my second wife. This was very traumatic and caused me not to enter into another marriage for many years. Although I had 2 children out of wedlock, I would also consider these two women a kind of marriage, how can you not. My third marriage was for three years with a rough divorce. My fourth was a long-term marriage which also ended in separation and ultimately a divorce. Since then I have not been married legally, I have spent the past 15 years in the same relationship I am in now. You could say that I have been slightly dysfunctional in any committed monogamous relationships. Since I don't really believe in monogamy in itself.

· What do you still want to accomplish?

Wow, I could never begin to tell you, because really there is so much to do. Life is a wonderful journey and I believe each day brings us a new adventure.

· You've had many patrons and have worked in a variety of industries, wearing many hats. Which patrons would you say contributed the most in an unconditional way in your life?

Well, nothing is really unconditional, there are always many expectations on both sides. One of my favorite but most turbulent of patrons, was Billy Gaff and Rod Stewart. Although, Coby Cohen, Lane Louery, Alexandre Raden, Gary Couhana Parker and his wife Sharon, Grace and Harold Robins, Philippe Groulxberg, Horris Richter and of course different members of my wives family, just to mention a few, were instrumental in supporting me as an artist. Currently my main sponsors are Mi Made Toya, Agung Rai, Arma Museum, my art dealers in Germany, the US and China. Author Jean Cocteau, my partner in crime Francois and his lovely lady and several other close friends.

· Which celebrities have worn your wearable art and who are some of your art collectors?
I couldn't possibly list all the celebrities and art collectors, there are so many. I hate blowing my own whistle, so I will briefly answer. I started selling my art it at a very early age. Designing fashion as well. I never was a low priced artist, except when I was desperate for money, which has not been many times in my life. I think when you have talent, many people want a piece of it. In the last few years, my work has been auctioned for large sums of money. My wearable art has been worn by rock bands like the Rolling Stones, Led Zeppelin, Earth Wind and Fire, actors like Richard Prier, Shear, Madonna and many others. I have sold my wearable art to other designers for their collections like Donna Karen, BE BE, and many other brands. It's still sold today in Bali, the US and Europe. I hope this good fortune will continue so I can employ more less fortunate than myself.

Rom Yaari

Why are we making a move about your story
If anyone deserves to have a film made about them and their lifetime, this artist, Ram Yaari, is certainly one of the most interesting stories today. Full of action, drama and joy, from rags to riches, and great accomplishments. A story whose time has come.

Second set of questions:

When and where were you the happiest?
I have been happy most of my life. Even through the bad times, I really enjoyed in many different places. I would say that i was very productive and prolific everywhere I have lived. The things that have made me unhappy are usually to do with others. So I distance myself from negative people to keep a good outlook on life. I would say I am the happiest when I am painting. Some of the most inspiring places I have been as an artist and where I was the happiest, would be Costa Rica, Santa fae new Mexico, the Hampton NY Spain, California and Hawaii, Australia and Bali. They were very inspiring moments in my life. Obviously Bali has won my heart and live here till my dying days.
What is your philosophy of life?
Believe in yourself, give thanks to a higher power, dont sweat the small stuff.

Who are some of your heroes in life?
I have always admired those who have contributed the most to the arts. to name a few, I would have to start with Mark Shegal, Mozart, Leonardo, Modigliani, Renoir, Cezanne, some of my teachers and my biggest hero of all, is not so much man or women, but I would say both. Women like Carol king, jonnie Mitchell, Madonna, Marline Ferguson and many writers and philosophers, my favorite is Kalil Gibran, the author of the prophet.

What are the qualities you most appreciate in a person?
Honesty, loyalty and integrity.

What are your plans for your art and your business in the near future?
I have surrendered responsibility of my carrier to my agents and managers. I try to stay focused a 100% on my art. It takes many forms so I am never bored.

When is your next art exhibition?
My management have several exhibition scheduled for 2017 to 2020. I am currently working on my autobiography with Jean Cocteau. I know there are plans for a China exhibit and Germany. I am sure they will let me know soon enough the rest of my schedule for the next few years. Planing ahead is important for me, having no dealings in business is crucial. I have not handeled money for the past 30 years of my life and not about to start now.

How important is the celebrity connection and how has it shaped your work?
Well its always fun to be around accomplished individuals. I have become somewhat of a celebrity myself. I know from the past experience it comes with a great deal of responsiblities. I have been very fortunate in having spent time with different famous individuals. They have certainly influenced me in many ways.

How has being in Bali helped your artistic endeavors and how has it hindered them?
Bali is a very inspiring environment. Sometime one can feel very stuck on a small island. Luckily, people come here from all over the world for many different reasons. It is one of the world most unique cultural environment. We have amazing events on the island all the time, although I spend most of my time alone painting. The social side of me as a monkey in Chinese astrology, loves to be social. So I offer myself as a body painter for different events from time to time. The downside is that Bali has experienced a negative overdevelopment, it attracts a lot of con artists and wannabe small minded individuals. Luckily, most of them don't last long here and the good people endure and provide Bali with a positive and loving contribution.

Where do you see yourself in 10 years?
I have no clue. Hopefully, travelling doing shows, lecturing at schools and holding my seminars. And continuing as an artist in general.

How do you want to be remembered when you are gone?
What do you mean gone? I will be here forever, I am an infinite being, unconditional and unlimited. I believe in the Eternal Spirit and know that I have been here for many lifetimes and will be for many to come. That may sound crazy, but show me what isn't on this earth today.

Sort:  

Wow. Thanks for all your comments. I really appreciate your support. Teach me more about Steemit! I need to earn a million dollars this year to help children in Bali. Check out where I work: http://www.armabali.com

We had such great and fun times !
I moved to Vienna for now taking care of my Mom but who knows where the wind will take me next . I still have my family home in Sanur ! Good to catch you here 🍀🦋👻

Yaaariiiiiiiiii Still in Bali ?? :)

I thought you knew I lived in Bali all my life except the parts when I didn't live in Bali! Hahaha :) How are you? I've moved to Ubud. Very happy.

We danced our arses off ....remember Tsuyoshi Suzuki Days ??? 🐷

Do i ever! Fun fun is rule number 1! They just finished making a 22min B documentary on my life with director @samstonehill. We are about to embark on a feature film with 4hearts productions in LA.

I still dance wildly as much as possible. Hope your mum is well and you get back safely to Bali soon.

Congratulation

Today one year ago you joined SteemIt
Thank you, for making SteemIt great and Steem on for more years to come!

(You are being celebrated here)

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.16
TRX 0.16
JST 0.030
BTC 58171.46
ETH 2472.55
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.42