Ogre Mage - Advanced Adventures Art

in #art8 years ago


I remember getting the 1st Edition Advanced Dungeons and Dragons Monster Manual for Christmas when I was 11. I was immediately enthralled. So many monsters copiously illustrated. It was just mind blowing. There was nothing quite comparable at the time. I remember one of the critters that jumped out at me was the ogre mage. I'd heard of ogres sure, but what the heck was an ogre mage? To top it off, it was dressed in feudal Japanese armor. Way cool! These things just really weren't really around in 1983. But anyway, fast forward a few decades later. I was thrilled at the prospect to get to do a cover piece with an ogre mage. It was really quite fun doing this piece. I hope you enjoy. Happy gaming!

Sort:  

One of my favorite comics as a kid was the Forgotten Realms series DC published in cooperation with TSR. It had wonderful art by Rags Morales early in his career. The first story arc was "The Hand of Vaprak!" Featuring an Ogre Mage adversary. I can definitely relate to the interest and affinity you developed at a young age.

Ah yes! I think I've got that one around somewhere!

This post has been ranked within the top 80 most undervalued posts in the first half of Nov 16. We estimate that this post is undervalued by $3.08 as compared to a scenario in which every voter had an equal say.

See the full rankings and details in The Daily Tribune: Nov 16 - Part I. You can also read about some of our methodology, data analysis and technical details in our initial post.

If you are the author and would prefer not to receive these comments, simply reply "Stop" to this comment.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.19
TRX 0.13
JST 0.030
BTC 60543.19
ETH 3336.30
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.48