Hello a Mi-Go - Astonishing Swordsmen and Sorcerers of Hyperborea Art

in #art8 years ago


Fungi from Yuggoth! I've been a fan of Lovecraftian horror since I first picked up a collection of his short stories at a Stars and Stripes Bookstore in Nuremburg Germany back in 1985 or so. I was around 13 at the time and was familiar with Lovecraft from the Advanced Dungeons and Dragons Deities and Demigods book (which also brought about my love for Michael Moorcock and his Elric stories) from a couple of year previous. Nothing quite spells out horror like uncaring aliens from space. That is one of the things I love about AS&SH, it combines great pulpy fantasy stuff ala Conan and Elric with weird fantasy and horror ala Lovecraft and Derleth. Being that I love all of these, it is awesome to have a RPG Game that encompasses them all. Happy gaming!

Sort:  

That's a terrifying insect creature.

Thank you for sharing this!
I have to confess, I have been told my artwork (see specific example below) is "Lovecraftian", but, uhm, I really know nothing about the guy other than his name and what you've posted here. Looks like I've got some homework to do because I love your work and I love the imagery of the fantasy/horror genre :D
lovecraftian-edge

Oh I do love that! I could see how that would be considered Lovecraftian.

Thank you so much! I mean it, I really am going to school myself on this man. Who knows, maybe a whole slew of posts may come from your reply!

That would be interesting. Lovecraft's fiction is very interesting. The man himself is rather unsavoury in a lot of regards. He was a product of his time to some extent but definitely was a racist amongst other things. However, the things he came up with were very interesting.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.19
TRX 0.15
JST 0.029
BTC 62827.81
ETH 2583.62
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.73