50 Shades of Mom - The Artist

in #art7 years ago (edited)

Art for the SOUL

When I was in middle school my best friend was diagnosed with ovarian cancer. I spent most of my 7th and 8th grade year in and out of the hospital with her. We both grew up a lot those two years. I had a tough time dealing with all the emotions I felt trying to understand what was going on with my best friend. I had a lot of questions and was confused. My counselor in school knew about the situation and invited me into her office where she allowed me to paint, draw, sculpt and journal. Any time I needed to get out of class and just sort through my thoughts I could go to her office. Art became therapy to me. That’s where it all began. I have always loved art but it became a way for me to get out my thoughts without having to talk. I decided to go to a high school that offered advanced studies in visual arts. I graduated top 10% of my class and had an extensive portfolio. Sad to say that I did not go to college for any kind of art degree but art still plays an important role in my everyday life.

This is Jenifer and I throughout the years.

This is where it all began

George Washington Carver High School for the Advanced Visual and Performing Arts, Technology and Engineering.(literally the name of my high school)

Henna

I started drawing on myself at a very young age. My mom used to tell me I was going to get ink poisoning from using markers and pens on my body. I found a little Indian Market by my house when I was in high school and started buying henna cones to practice on myself and my friends. Now I always have a henna cone in the freezer and find it very therapeutic!

Face Painting

We had a senior lock in after prom at my high school and I painted faces for the first time there. I have randomly painted a few times over the years but started it up again about 5 years ago. I started renting booths at festivals in Louisiana when we lived there. When we moved back to Houston I painted for birthday parties, my kids school events, The Museum of Fine Arts Houston, The Children’s Museum Woodlands and various festivals around town.

The Cake Boss

Chefs Passionne is my cake business. I started out making cake pops one Mother’s Day and eventually moved on to cakes, cupcakes and many other delicious treats! I love what I do because it allows me time at home with my husband and kids. It is also a creative outlet for me.

This little cutie turned one! @vischangefitness son is so adorable!!!

Here are a few of my cakes!

This is one of my favorite cakes! I made this for a high school friend who has me do her cake every birthday.

More cakes!

Chocolate covered strawberries for any occasion.

Cake pops are a cute, easy to eat dessert!

Customized, hand made cupcakes!

Holiday treats are so yummy!

Painting

I don’t do too much painting these days but every once in a while I get the urge. I mostly paint for my kids or friends and family. I love painting but I have to be in the mood and inspiration has to strike me. This is why I do not paint to sell… that’s so much pressure.

My anniversary present to my husband was this painting and poem. Poem is from the movie The Vow.

The present for a first anniversary is paper, so this is my gift of paper.

This is a commissioned piece I did. This is the Family Tree. They went on to hang photos of their family around the tree. Each owl represented each member of the family.

These are some paintings I did for my kids rooms and the rainbow feet is all of our feet including the newest member born May 22, 2017.

Fun with my kids

In our house we have an easel and a ton of art supplies. My kids love drawing, painting, sculpting and creating all sorts of art. I highly encourage creative thinking and expression.

These are all pieces I have done with my kids. Aren't they all quite the little artists?

Handmade Valentine's Day cards for my son's class.

Holiday creative fun.

While I may not be a professional artist, I definitely use my creativity to color my life every day. I want to thank my wonderful husband @xtrodnarypilot for always encouraging me to use my creativity and be the best I can be. Thank you baby for all your support!!!!

All pictures are original photos of me and by me.
Posted with the eSteem App

It takes a Village

@xtdnrymompreneur

DQmRR53p7anL5bW2EVJAuSmgyoBVrCUHVJAk53tTz2cgrSY_1680x8400.jpg

Sort:  

Great art though out the post! I get that about painting. I like it, but I only do Bob Ross style. Give me a big honking brush and let me at it lol.

I LOVE Bob Ross, seriously my hero! What a great artist.

Bob Ross and then watch Sit and Be Fit... got to love PBS

you are certainly a wonderful artist and thanks for sharing your story!


This gem of a post was discovered by the OCD Team!

Reply to this comment if you accept, and are willing to let us share your gem of a post! By accepting this, you have a chance to receive extra rewards and one of your photos in this article may be used on our compilation post!

You can follow @ocd – learn more about the project and see other Gems! We strive for transparency.


Congratulations! This post has been upvoted from the communal account, @minnowsupport, by xtdnrymompreneur from the Minnow Support Project. It's a witness project run by aggroed, ausbitbank, teamsteem, theprophet0, and someguy123. The goal is to help Steemit grow by supporting Minnows and creating a social network. Please find us in the Peace, Abundance, and Liberty Network (PALnet) Discord Channel. It's a completely public and open space to all members of the Steemit community who voluntarily choose to be there.

If you like what we're doing please upvote this comment so we can continue to build the community account that's supporting all members.

Wow the cakes! I want the unicorn cake LOL. You are such an inspiration. Your kids are blessed to have you as a mom. Upvoted and followed.

Thank you @coloringiship!!! The unicorn cake was so fun to make!!!! And it's beautiful. I really do love my job. 😊 Thank you for the upvote and follow!

you are indeed an extraordinary mum and a good entrepreneur. your works are good, @xtrodnarypilot is blessed to have you as a wife. steem on!

@arizonawise.

Thank you very much @arizonawise!!! We are both thankful for our beautiful family!

Congratulations @xtdnrymompreneur! You have completed some achievement on Steemit and have been rewarded with new badge(s) :

Award for the total payout received

Click on any badge to view your own Board of Honor on SteemitBoard.
For more information about SteemitBoard, click here

If you no longer want to receive notifications, reply to this comment with the word STOP

By upvoting this notification, you can help all Steemit users. Learn how here!

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.17
TRX 0.13
JST 0.027
BTC 61110.07
ETH 2731.78
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.45