An artist in the making: Testing the waters with different artforms. [WARNING: Special Effects Makeup]

in #art7 years ago (edited)

This is a semi continuation of my last post...

Throughout the years I've not only been drawn to the traditional artstyles like drawing and painting by hand, I've also tested the waters with digital drawings, photo manipulations, photography, makeup, sewing, sculpting and so on (some of which you may have seen in my introduction post).


[Digital Drawing - Wacom Bamboo in Photoshop]

I love learning new abilities, and being the perfectionist I am, all these different artforms give me the opportunity to execute each creative project exactly the way I envisioned it, without having to compromise with other people and their ideas. Don't get me wrong, I love collaborating with people and you can really expand your creative bubble that way, but when I already have an idea I'm happy with, I'd rather not have other people try to take over.


[Makeup & Costume - Zombie Nurse]

Working with multiple artforms has also given me a deeper understanding of things such as lighting, anatomy, attention to detail etc... After I got into photography I've become more aware of lighting which helps me when I draw, my drawing skills come in handy when designing the clothes I sew, sewing is a great plus for when I plan creative photoshoots and so on. I used to make a lot of costumes and props for Halloween, cosplay, live-action RPGs but after I started studying to become a tailor and patternmaker I spend most of my time on school projects and commissions.


[Designed and Sewed - Waistcoat & Classic Pants with Piping]

Well, I don't feel I have as much to say this time as I did the last, but I hope you enjoyed reading this post none the less. More individual work is to come up soon, so I'd love to hear what you want to see more of!
(check previous posts HERE and HERE for more examples)

Toodles,
Ellisif Ýr Heiðdal

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.17
TRX 0.15
JST 0.028
BTC 59893.00
ETH 2414.92
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.43