[Art Auction] "Shall We Cross This River?" - An Original Acrylic Work on Canvas Board 14" x 11"

in #art7 years ago

Good day and warm wishes to all of my wonderful steem peeps!
Today I come to you with an art auction-- except this art auction has a unique twist.


Instead of bidding on the art, you just upvote or resteem.

Why would I do it this way? In a second, I think it will be obvious to you. Let me ask, are you interested in proving Steemit can be a really great thing for the world?

I am.

Well, let's prove this platform can be a way to make art cheaper, get it out there, and also get the artists paid.


Here's how it works:

  • Each piece of art has a specific price THE POST needs to meet in order for the art to ship out. Usually one or two whale upvotes can accomplish this if the art is $20-$50, which is where I plan on pricing almost all of my art.
  • If the post gets the required amount of money, the art is going to someone. If you like the post enough to have left a comment to try and win it, then you should probably upvote and resteem it too so the post gets enough money to ship the art. If the art doesn't ship, I'll post it again at some point in the future possibly with a higher or lower price, depending on various factors.
  • The recipient of the artwork is determined by the best comment, as voted by the community. This means I will not be upvoting comments. Those who follow me know I don't often withhold upvotes. I want to remove all risk of bias / manipulation.
  • As for the comments, I'd like to recommend writing how the art means something to you, why you would want it, where it would go or perhaps just what it reminds you of, as most of my art is rather abstract.

The beauty of this model is this:

The person receiving the art is the person who desires the art most, not the one who has the most money, as I'm setting the price before-hand and essentially the community is fund-raising for the person who is going to actually receive it. Talk about altruism!!!

I think that's it. Now for the art and the required post value.


The required post value for this piece will be $20 in total post expected payout.

I'm trying to start with one I'd let go for not too much cashish.

... and here's the art. I call it "Shall We Cross This River?"

IMG_5068.JPG

You like it? Well, write me a heartfelt comment (the heartfeltier the better :D) and maybe it will be your's.

The winner will have to get me an address to which I can send the art somehow someway, I haven't really figured this out -- We can do discord, telegram or Steem.chat -- I'm on all three. No stress.

The dope thing is that we don't have to worry about how to send me the money because I'll get it right here on Steemit! :D YAY!

Ok, I'm done being silly. Here's another shot of the art from the side so you can see how skinny the board is. I have other works done on a real stretched canvas frame but that's going to be later.

IMG_5069.JPG

You can see my Merlin Guitar hanging on the wall and another of my more recent works behind the one being auctioned.

Cheers ya'll, I don't know what else to say. If you have questions, hit me in the comments, I'll answer em. It'd be funny if someone asking a question ended up winning the art by accident :)
bluedivide.png

Much love and STEEM ON YA'LL!!!!

smile-steemthx.jpg

Sort:  

hlw friend. how r you? @writewords I just followed and up voted. Hope you will stay with me & follow me..

Hey thanks for following and upvoting. I'll check out your content and if it appeals to be, I'll consider a follow!

Fascinating nice work, I wish you good fortune :)

Thank you sir chapps.

As an artist myself. I find this idea very interesting. I am going to follow to see how this idea progresses! Good work! I hang in Steemit.chat #general a lot, maybe talk to you there :)

I have to get on steemit.chat more i have been on discord a lot recently.

Hey, I'm actually hoping better artists with bigger audiences will take this model and make it work for their own needs.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.16
TRX 0.15
JST 0.029
BTC 57158.90
ETH 2411.82
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.28