Why a grown man is building a dollhouse (Part 2)

in #art7 years ago

In my first post I left at the point of where I went wrong. The this I did wrong is that I calculated the walls too low. In the picture below you see the difference in height. The top picture is the new height, the bottom picture is taken when I stopped.

My error was that I went on the fact that the average doll would measure about 12 centimetres high, so 15 centimetres floor to ceiling should be nice and give a realistic feeling, without making the building look too bulky. I didn’t consider that when it would come to buying furniture and closets, that they are on average between 18 and 22 centimetres high.

There was nothing left to do but to start all over again. This time I calculated for the floor to ceiling height to be 25 centimetres high!

The first obstacle that I met on my way was how to cut the windows out. I have initially spent a lot of time trying to figure a way to do this fast, but nice, so that I could create the effect that I wanted. The first window I cut out, I did by hand with a U-Shaped Jigsaw. It took me about an hour to cut our 1 window. I decided to invest a bit of money and bought myself a Dremel Rotary Tool. Although the effect was nicer, it still took a lot of time as I was sanding each millimetre away.

After speaking with my helpful neighboor, he mentioned that I could use an electric Jigsaw. Although this was a good solution, I was afraid that the tools I knew to exist would be too rough and strong for the purpose of my project. So I decided to go to the local Do-it-yourself store again and stumbled across a Proxxon 12V Jig Saw that is perfect for hobbying. Cutting the windows out went much faster now.

In my next post I will write how I overcame the issue of making angles on the edges to ensure that each piece fitted nicely against the next one.

Doron

Sort:  

This gem of a post was discovered by the OCD Team!

Reply to this comment if you accept, and are willing to let us share your gem of a post! By accepting this, you have a chance to receive extra rewards and one of your photos in this article may be used in our compilation post!

You can follow @ocd – learn more about the project and see other Gems! We strive for transparency.

Let me know if you have any questions regarding the project or nomination. Hope to hear from you soon!

If you would like your posts to be resteemed by @ocd to reach a bigger audience, use the tag #ocd-resteem. Every day, three posts using this tag will be chosen by our curators to be resteemed. Good Luck!

WOW, I feel very honoured to be asked for something like this after only 3 posts. Thank you very much. I humbly accept this.

Amazing, I am currently making one of these for my granddaughter. I am glad to see that I am not the only one stumbling through a project like this. You're doing fantastic by the way.

Thank you, I hope that my posts can be of some help. The house is finished in the mean time, but I am putting the work up here in stages with all the hurdles I had to overcome. Good luck with your project and I am curious to see what yours looks like.

That's coming along great! I love the look of the windows

Thank you

looks great! I would never have had the tenacity to start all over again... thats determination!

Thanks, like I wrote in my first, I think the fact that I felt pressure from certain sides, made me do it :-D

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.17
TRX 0.15
JST 0.028
BTC 62102.06
ETH 2415.08
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.49