Original Watercolor: Lakeside Homes

in #art6 years ago

community-4-2018.jpg

While sitting outside on a very warm day I looked for inspiration from what was happening around me. The sun was peeking in and out from the drifting clouds. The folding chair wasn't particularly comfortable. The neighborhood kids were playing street hockey and arguing about a penalty that wasn't called. Most of my neighbors were indoors doing various things or away doing even more various things. I sat there trying to pull inspiration out of my environment. There were plenty of subjects but I opted for a scene from my imagination.

This was kept as a loose sketch of what I imagined a small vacation community near a lake. It's early spring time just after the last thrust of winter. The homes and yards were in a sort of disrepair as they were vacated for warmer climates. When the neighbors come back things will get cleaned up. Yards will get mowed. Workers will come out to patch roofs and fix plumbing. But all in all the neighbors will keep to themselves. Maybe they'll offer a friendly wave now and again to each other.

Watercolors: Sennelier tubes - Sap Green, Ultramarine Blue, Dioxazine Purple, Burnt Sienna, Yellow Ochre, Alizarin Crimson
Brushes: Princeton Neptune - #10 Round & #6 Round
Paper: Fabriano Acquarello, 100% cotton, 300 g/m, 5"x7"

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.18
TRX 0.16
JST 0.029
BTC 60808.14
ETH 2392.92
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.63