My process to create an Illustration

in #art6 years ago (edited)

Hello everyone, I'm an art student and here is my first post. I want to share some tips and some knowledge about making an ilustration or a concept art.

Concept_Art.jpg

I will illustrate my words with this illustration I did with a friend.

The first step is to find an idea. It can be based on a feeling, a concept, a photograph or any piece of art.
On this one I just wanted to caricature an old Citroen Van H. Which bring me to my second step: references.
If you want to be efficient in what you do you need to work with references. It will make your work plausible. You can use references for light, color, shapes, etc.

Refs_Van.jpg

Sketch_Van.jpg

Sketch_Van_02.jpg

Once I liked the design of my subject, I needed to work on the environment. I just knew that I wanted something colorful. I looked for references again and I decided to do a photobash. A photobash is a specific type of process that I can develop in another post if your are interested in, just let me know.
For this step I prefer to do a breakdown of the process.

01.jpg
02.jpg
03.jpg
04.jpg

And there it is. Of course it is a global vision of the process but the goal of this post is mainly to let me know if the community is interested in this kind of subjects.

All paintings and text published in this post are my original work

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.29
TRX 0.12
JST 0.032
BTC 63867.81
ETH 3135.89
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.84