What is digital compositing?

in #art6 years ago

Digital compositing is creating a new image by assembling various disparate pictures into an organic-looking whole. I use stock images from dreamstime.com, my own photos, vintage photos from Ebay, items scanned into the computer, etc. Photoshop is my base program for manipulating the images, but there's a world of choices beyond (or rather in addition to) PS. Photoshop is my one true love : D

On my website I post simple composites in large files for people to download and print for free, as a way to practice my art and build a following (katemcwethy.com). Here is an example of 3 stock photos:

Meandering howto.jpg

The end result of compositing (which typically is 8 hours' worth of work) is this:

Meandering web copy.jpg

Book illustrations use a lot more "parts" - a dozen or more, depending on the complexity of what I'm trying to create. Edgar Allan Poe is quite a challenge in that respect.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.23
TRX 0.12
JST 0.029
BTC 66504.03
ETH 3578.30
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.03