You are viewing a single comment's thread from:

RE: Painting with Sparklers - Long-Exposure Photography (Original Photos by JVO)

in #art7 years ago

What a great idea! And I love how much you committed to it and how far you took it.

The drawings remind me of the contour drawing exercises we used to do in art class, where you're not allowed to lift the pen from the paper and you have to trace the form as quickly as you can. Light painting must be especially challenging as you can't really see what you've put down until you check the exposure.

Thank God for digital cameras, though. Imagine having to take this to the photomat and wait for prints before you could see how they came out!

Re-steeming because this really deserves more exposure. (Actually you've got more followers than me but every little bit helps, right?)

Sort:  

@Winstonalden - thank you SO much for the support I genuinely do appreciate the re-steem! My followers are growing but the interraction has been dropping - so every little bit DOES help!

Thank you for recognizing the efforts that went into this - I spent all day the next day after we spent several hours capturing these fun images - editing and creating the fun gifs. I was hoping people would think they were cool.

Yes, I have done the tradiitional darkroom photography course in College where you have to do a lot of night photography and boy was it tricky 12 years ago when I only had my film SLR. I struggled. But now, digital has really helped me to understand the physics behind what is happening with each adjustment - and it really helps to solidify the concept of what I am trying to achieve with each setting. Thank God - whoever invented the Digital Camera definitely gets a ticket to heaven - or whatever awesome place they feel they go to when they leave here - lol!

I remember the contour drawings in Figure Drawing - I was such a nerd that I used to go to the Figure Drawing club sessions outside of regular classes because I love drawing people so much. The exercises they would have us do were really fun and definitely invited a lot of expression in the drawings which was fun to see - usually we all tend to be so rigid - so perfect (another thing digital art has opened and relieved from the artist's worry).

Thanks for taking the time to read and review - I appreciate your support!! :D

The digital can be so liberating, can't it?

It's the same with writing. We used to have to keep a wastepaper basket ready for our bad ideas. Now we have the "delete" key.

LOL I know - or whiteout so you could re-type over it with the type-writer :) I used to love using my mom's

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.14
TRX 0.12
JST 0.024
BTC 51418.20
ETH 2293.14
USDT 1.00
SBD 1.99