Cow sketching and some stories

in #art6 years ago

Hi guys! My father is a farmer so growing up I was lucky enough to live surrounded by animals and I am an animal lover today because of that :) I always had a way with animals, they tend to learn to trust me faster and such. Even thought I lived surrounded by animals I never drew much of them, so today I'd like to try my hand at drawing animals, especially cattle :)

IMG_20190121_122601.jpg

Cow are cool animals overall, some of them tend to be very gentle and well behaved. I once got close to a calf, I was fortunate enough to spend some time with him when he was just born and with time he grew to be very comfy around me. After a week or so, he became a very very oversized puppy to me. It was very fun to have him around and play with him, I would scrach his neck and the spots were his horns would grow and he loved it. But time went by and he was getting biggger , stronger, faster. Slowly he was becoming a bull and I knew our friendship would end. I was once working and I was quite distracted by what I was doing, my buddy calf ran to me and hit me in the knee with his head. I knew he was just playing, but my knee turned to the side like it shouln't have. My leg was fine, but it hurt for a few days and I knew I had to say bye to this buddy. I shouted at him a few times, so that he would become wary of people once again and that was it.

IMG_20190121_121607.jpg

IMG_20190121_122028.jpg

IMG_20190121_122601.jpg

Cows are cute and all, but they are quite dangerous. They kill around 20 people a year and thats only in America. I had a few close calls with them where I could have been seriously injured, so that statistic doesn't surprise me much.

Cow's aren't evil by any change, but they have their own quirks :D For example a cow can be in a bad mood and if then you rub them the wrong way for some reason uh oh you're in trouble :D

I once made a cow angry while turns out she was in a bad mood :D I was doing my thing, caring for animals, feeding them. All our cows have a little snack once a day, flour, they love that. We bring a little bit of that for them in a bucket, wait untill they eat everything and then take the bucket back. One cow a little stubborn, she didin't want to give back the snack bucket, that happens ofthen so I didin't worry, but when I did took the bucket finally she attacked me. I was fast enough to move away a bit, but her horn did stab me right above my eye. I was extremely lucky, just a bit lover and I would have definately lost my eye. Once again I was very lucky, the spot she stabbed hurt for a really long time, but no real damage was done, only my skull on the spot of my eyebrow looks a bit bigger than my other one :D

IMG_20190121_124446.jpg

IMG_20190121_125503.jpg

IMG_20190121_125446.jpg

I could tell similar stories for a long time, cows are nice animals, but they definately dangerous, by caring for the for a long time I definately know that :D

But let's end this post on a happy note and not a 'dang cows are dangerous' note :D

Did you know that some cows like to sit for some reason? We had a lot of cows, but never have I saw one do that, but I found a picture of a cow sitting on the internet and that stuff is absolutely adorable, here it is :

y06h0idpzywy.jpg

Thanks for checking this out! I had a lot of fun telling you these stories I hope you enjoyed them too! Until next time!

Sort:  

Love the sketches and what fascinating stories! You must’ve loved your childhood because of the animals. I knew that cows are capable of injuring a person but didn’t go as far as to image the fatality rate. That last image of the cow sitting is hilarious!

Thank you! Yea I did love my childhood despite all the injuries I have now. And I'm glad you like the sitting cow :D

Congratulations @wilnonis! You have completed the following achievement on the Steem blockchain and have been rewarded with new badge(s) :

You got more than 100 replies. Your next target is to reach 200 replies.

Click here to view your Board
If you no longer want to receive notifications, reply to this comment with the word STOP

Support SteemitBoard's project! Vote for its witness and get one more award!

Aaah I love these stories, @wilnonis ! I have always thought of cows as gentle and harmless because I don't know anything about them, hahaha... But I see that they are quite dangerous ! :O :O :O

I am glad you weren't permanently damaged by them, that incident with the eye is very scary to me ! Despite all these, you find them to be lovely animals and this affection is shown well through your sketches :)

That picture of the cow sitting is adorable as heck XD What a gorgeous post <3 I love it <3

Haha yup the sitting cow is great as always :D I don't think I can be angry at those animals, I mean we humans tamed them and only grow them for our selfish reasons, the least I can do is suck it up when they attack :) At least that's how I see it :D

Thank's for the nice comment @veryspider! ^^

Your experience with cows surprise me. I know they're big but I didn't know that they are that dangerous. I'm glad you don't suffer any permanent injury to your knee or eye... phew. And it's admirable that despite having these close calls, you still view them as animals, neither good or evil, that's commendable of you :).

Thank you! Afther all that happened I am a little bit more on guard around them, but I can't bring myself to be angry or view them as bad animals :D We people stripped animals of their freedom, the least I can do is be chill when they do decide to attack :)

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.16
TRX 0.16
JST 0.031
BTC 58527.16
ETH 2486.24
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.41