The Lost Herd

in #art6 years ago

It appears that my artists block has gone away for now, Who knows how long this next spurt of inspiration will last. My current series has been a coming together of past concepts. The creatures from the fold have met one of the rusted giants of the wastland and the hole pattern from my space drawings seems to have infected the local wildlife.
fallen three.jpg
I had a lot of fun making this piece. Sometimes a painting will just flow out of you and the next thing you know the scene comes in to focus and you can put the brush down.
fallen one.jpg
While these creatures my not look realistic, my goal was to make them feel tangible to the viewer. My focus was on giving them volume and texture.
fallen two.jpg
Balancing the colors was also an enjoyable experience. I was very heavy with the watercolors this time around, I laid down many thick layers so the shapes would protrude instead of staying in the mist.
fallen four.jpg
After I finished this piece I had someone ask me about what these creatures are and if there was a story behind it all. More on that later. I took a few pictures of the creative process this time around so expect a making of post sometime soon. What do you think it all means? I love theories so let me know in the comments below :) Stay tuned, and until then

Steem on!

-SYRUS

william syrus for posting.jpg

Sort:  

OHHHH! these need to me made as actual statues! I love this reoccurring concept of the Giant metal cattle... something of Beksinski about it.

Hi. Nice post - worth the click. Will resteem this one! Wish you all the best.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.16
TRX 0.15
JST 0.028
BTC 55994.69
ETH 2375.77
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.31