Monarch

in #art6 years ago

There is nothing quite like the duality of nature.
membrane (4).jpg
I think Nietzsche said it best. "And if thou gaze long into an abyss, the abyss will also gaze into thee." I get that same feeling when staring into the wilderness.
membrane.jpg
I wanted to capture the feeling of that duality in this painting. I wanted to mimic the simultaneous beauty and terror that nature emits. It can be awe inspiring, nurturing, maternal and at the same time intensely predatory. It will birth a billion lives only to later devour them. The whole thing seems so lovecraftian to me.
membrane (3).jpg
It started out as a leaf.

Steem on!

william syrus for posting.jpg

Sort:  

Beautiful colors! My most favorite!

woooooooooow i love this~ so beautiful and so surreal * ___ * the blend between organic plant and animal is so well done here <3 gorgeous work, absolutely beautiful~~

upvotes and resteems

Fantastic post! I included you in my weekly curation Ocean of Art!

Incredible! The colors of this are so beautiful

Great thought very well expressed with both, the head line of your text and beautiful watercolor. Resteemed

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.14
TRX 0.12
JST 0.025
BTC 52438.26
ETH 2303.72
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.05