King Beetle

in #art6 years ago

Hello Steemit, It's been a while.

IMG_20180831_123329_886 (2).jpg

After a 78 day fire season here in the states, and a two week vacation in Germany, I am officially back and ready to start posting again regularly.

IMG_20180831_182745_324.jpg

I actually had an art show I was preparing for in December. Once fire season ended, I was painting every day, and actually produced quite a few new works. Right before my trip to Germany however, I found out that my show wasn't until next December...

IMG_20180831_182753_292.jpg

On the bright side, Now I have more content for steemit!

IMG_20180831_182749_147.jpg

I like to use a hair dryer now, to shorten the drying time in between layers. Although, sometimes I work on multiple pieces simultaneously, so I can stay busy while one piece dries.

IMG_20180831_182826_992.jpg

I had a lot of time to think while I was living off grid and working in the woods. There were a few events that once they had happened, I knew they would result in a painting.

IMG_20180831_182836_248.jpg

In the forests here in Oregon, there is a beetle with exceptionally long antenna called the Sawyer beetle. During a forest fire, these beetles are flying everywhere, and are constantly trying to land on you. This painting was inspired by my first encounter with a swarm of these beetles while trying to extinguish a burning tree. (They fly at your face

IMG_20180831_182844_923.jpg

King Beetle

IMG_20180831_123329_886.jpg

Eyyy thanks for viewing! It's good to be back. I'll try to stick around longer this time... Let me know what you think in the comments. Also, how do I make my images smaller? 😅

Steem On!

william syrus for posting.jpg

Sort:  

The dark lines (beetles limbs?) really change the feel of it.
The circular shapes I could become absorbed into, but the addition of the darker lines confronting me makes me pull back.
Awesome work.

William ! OMG !!!

It's been so long ! I miss your arts so much !!! <3 <3 <3

And this one is amazing * ___ * .... i look forward to seeing more from you now that fire season is over \o/

Thanks! I'll try to stick around longer this time

Yeah the sawyer beetles will actually fly into you even when there isn't a forest fire going on LOL I snapped this pic of one that ran smack into my glasses and then decided to hang out there :) Absolutely love the beetle legs and horns sticking through the 3rd wall there, so cool. Welcome back


This post was shared in the Curation Collective Discord community for curators, and upvoted and resteemed by the @c-squared community account after manual review.

You don't know how much I love and enjoy your work and color tones @william-syrus! This is such a great piece !

Welcome back! Looking forward to your comeback :) This piece is lovely!

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.19
TRX 0.15
JST 0.029
BTC 63618.84
ETH 2623.39
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.78