Four Days Of Drawing Nothing But Dots

in #art7 years ago

This drawing took me about four days to finish. I'd say I spent at least 20 hours on it. My hands hurt like crazy, my fingers went a bit numb, but when it was all said and done, I loved every minute of it.
TREEEEEEE close up.jpg
I started out by drawing a smaller version in my sketch book.
20170220_230204-2.jpg
When I felt confident enough, I began working on a larger scale, starting with the face and the outline of the tree's base.
20170223_000311-2.jpg
These tiny little dots would run my life for the next four days. Up and down, up and down, dot dot dot. I needed some music... and a lot of coffee.
20170301_145742.jpg
At this point in the drawing I was In a trance like state. I would start laying down the dots and the next thing I knew three hours would go by.
TREEEEEEE.jpg
It was an experience, and when I put down the final dots and took a step back I felt a sense of accomplishment, and a desire to ice my fingers for a bit. If you want to try something a little different and test your artistic endurance and focus, I recommend you give Stippling a try. You'll hate it, and then you'll love it :)

Songs of note that helped fuel the creation: Buckingham Green - Ween, Mutilated lips - Ween, Us And Them - Pink Floyd, Welcome To The Machine - Pink Floyd, The Man Who Sold The World - David Bowie.

Let me know what you guys think In the comments. Why is this tree so grumpy?

If you like this sort of thing feel free to follow. I post weird stuff every week :)

syrus-gif-for-posts.gif

Sort:  

Fantastic work @william-syrus, I'm impressed. You are an ARTIST. Upvoted.

Thanks man. I appreciate the support :)

Really, really cool image and the process only adds to it. Amazing.

Thanks. And thanks for taking the time to look at it

@william-syrus,
OMG friend great art work you have done! I am a really lucky person who can write a comment for a great artwork!
Really amazing work friend! Thanks for sharing this with steem community!

Started to be a fan of yours!

Cheers~

Thanks dude, I'm glad you like it :)

wow.. great work... hard work but the final output is amazing... thank you for sharing

Thank you. And no problem

I LOVE stippling!!! It was always one of my favourite forms of illustration. Amazing pic!!! 👌😍

Thank you :) Do you have any drawings on steemit?

This deserves like a 1000 upvotes or something!
Seriously, I can only imagine the hard work put into this. Fantastic work :)

That would be nice lol. It was a lot of fun to make. Thank you

hehe you're welcome

Awesome job! :) I guess this tree is very grumpy because there are only swords growing around him rather than flowers and mushrooms, all because of men shedding their blood as usual. But at least, this way they don't turn against him to turn him into firewood :) Stop complaining, tree.

This is awesome man... I liked your drawing... It takes so much time ... And loved it..

Thanks man. I'm glad you like it

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.27
TRX 0.13
JST 0.032
BTC 63096.57
ETH 2954.05
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.55